We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect to use a charge card or debit card”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Original Pancake House
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Monona
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't expect to use a charge card or debit card”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I met with a client there and was surprised that no charge cards or debit cards are accepted, so did a quick cash count!! We had a 20 minute wait, which I heard was about average. I could see why later -- the food is fantastic. Great coffee and fresh squeezed juice and the food was the best breakfast I've had in the Madison area, hands down. I would have given it an excellent rating, except for the wait and the no-card policy, and also, another morning, we met there and it was closed during a weekday (don't remember which one) so check the schedule! But the food is definitely outstanding, A++ for that, and the service was also very good. Lots of checking for coffee, etc. Happy overall with the experience and would (and will) return. With cash.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I guess it is good if you like pancakes”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lots of food, big orders, reasonably good food, the place is not atractive, but I guess it is ok for breakfast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Pancakes”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A little out of the way but worth the extra twist and turns. Great pancakes and other items. Really busy at breakfast time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“eat there every week”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

excellent quality food. bustling atmosphere. Friendly service. Closed on Tuesdays. Local owner who is always on site. Closes daily at 2pm

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best pancakes”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Pancakes have an interesting flavor and they are our families favorite! Portions are large, price is reasonable. Go early on weekends or plan on waiting for a table. Wish they took credit cards.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank noahsmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing