We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf...Hotel is Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Hills Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mishicot
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Golf...Hotel is Dated”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from a great golf weekend at Fox Hills. The courses were amazing and challenging. The hotel rooms really need to be updated! Small TV's, bathrooms that look like they haven't been touched since the late 70's. The tile on the floors doesn't even come clean. The price is great and they do the best they can with cleaning. Its now time to remodel. The golf helps to outweigh the dated rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for your review. Fox Hills Resort will celebrate its 50th birthday in 2014 and our remodel process is in full swing, but admittedly - not complete. The process includes updated bathrooms, 32" flat screen TV's, as well as new beds and bedding, new carpet, and many other updates. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful golf courses. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    83
    51
    30
    26
See reviews for
83
56
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently had our wedding at Fox Hills and would have it there again in a heartbeat! My brother was married there a few years ago, and we did not hesitate to go back. My husband's family is from out of town and they found the room rates to be very reasonable and were very happy with their stay there. The wedding planning staff did an excellent job putting the reception hall together, it was such a stress reliever to give them all of my decorations and they set them up for us, it was perfect....just as I always imagined it should be! Living out of town, they were so easy to connect with through email, any questions that I had they were quick to answer them. It was the perfect spot for our guests to spend their weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Fox Hills Resort as the perfect location to start your new life together as husband and wife. You entrusted us with one of the most important days of your lives and for that, we are honored. We hope that you and your family will come back to see us time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We’ve been holding our golf outing at Fox Hills since 1996. The entire staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The (45) golf holes at Fox Hills are always well maintained and if you’ve never played the National Course, you’re really missing something unique. The food is always great, and the bartenders have always taken good care of us. We play unlimited golf Friday through Sunday with carts and eat and drink to excess. There is usually a good live band in house on Friday and Saturday nights and a casino nearby. We rarely sleep, but when we do, we do it in clean comfortable rooms. The bottom line is, if you’re organizing or attending a golf outing and not doing it at Fox Hills, I’m convinced, you’re paying more for less. I highly recommend Fox Hills for your next golf excursion. – S. Weber

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side with a patio have better access to the hot tube and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for being our guest at Fox Hills Resort. Sixteen years of your repeat business makes us proud and anxious to see you all again next year! We truly have the perfect location for group golf outings and family gatherings of all kinds. We will continue to offer the best value for your investment on fun and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed over labor day weekend. It was a wonderful time for all. The service was great. Family games and a bon fire the first night we arrived. My husband and son played golf and I went tot he casino one day. We had a great time. One thing I was disappointed about is that the Spa was only open one day we were there and that day was booked, I would have liked to try it. Great place, reasonably priced and great service. The remodles are very nice. Can't wait to see everything when it is finished. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your Labor Day vacation with us here at Fox Hills Resort. As staff members, there is nothing more rewarding than seeing families spend quality time together. We will continue to offer indoor and outdoor activities for all ages so please come back and see us again soon. Feel free to ask about using our activity center or any of our outdoor game equipment on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday after Labor Day Monday Wayne and I bring a group to Fox Hills for our annual golf outing. We started 12 years ago with 18 players and it has grown to about 60. Just got back from our last outing and everything went perfectly. Michelle Farr handled all the reservations without a hitch and Josh at the pro shop handled our shotgun starts for our qualifying rounds and tournament. Josh along with Michael and Kathy in the pro shop are very accommodating and go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need. And of course you can't forget the bar and waitress staff that were always very efficient, friendly and observant. I don't believe any of my guys were left thirsty. The rooms are nice, it's not the Hilton, but the beds are comfortable and the room is clean. It's all my group needs for their few days.

There are 3 nine hole courses and an 18 hole links course (The National). The courses were in the best shape we have seen them in the 12 years we have been coming there. We will be back again next year. You cannot beat the price for what you receive. Thanks again Michelle and Josh, we will see you after Labor Day next year. Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red2912_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Fox Hills Resort, and thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoy the facility as well as the golf courses. We have an amazing team of employees who strive to exceed guest expectations and genuinely enjoy getting to know the guests. We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

my name is joe gacek and for the past 4 four years we have been taking the golf outing to fox hills. waitress Dominique was very attentive and efficient and verygood. michell farr was also very attentitive and efficient and very good at their job. Everything was excellent. the food was outstanding as well as the service from the waitresses. the accomodations and the golfing were fantastic. This year the weather was also perfect. The rooms were ready when we arrived and everything was nice and in order. We definitely will be returning next year for this annual golf trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe221950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We thank you for posting your review and are happy that your group had such a wonderful time while relaxing here at Fox Hills Resort! We will continue to strive for excellence in both product and service and cannot wait to see your group back at the Resort, and out on the beautiful golf courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are currently here in villa 2. It is terrible. Straight out of college apartment living. Everything can be dated back to very early 80's if not later. Colored toilets, etc. Kitchen shelves caved and entertainment center (yes a wood look fiberboard one) is falling apart. Outside looks nice and new deck but distinct college apartment (cheap one near frat houses) feel. I would never recommend and feel Rci should not be offering at all! They need to close these down and renovate immediately.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hall0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Manager at Fox Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for being our guest over a very busy Labor Day weekend! We totally understand your feeling of the golf villa you stayed in being outdated. You will be happy to learn that over then next 6 - 8 months we will be remodeling the remaining golf villas. Many are already complete. Out of our 330 total rooms, only 16 of them are the small, efficiency type that you stayed in, but we continue to upgrade all of our rooms, including these. Please come back in the spring and see the wonderful results of our remodel efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mishicot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishicot
7.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
130 reviews
9.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
#3 of 6 in Manitowoc
193 reviews
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
53 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Inn on the Lake
Village Inn on the Lake
#2 of 4 in Two Rivers
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hills Resort

Property: Fox Hills Resort
Address: 250 W Church St, Mishicot, WI 54228-9788
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mishicot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mishicot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Hills Resort is a beautiful 500-acre resort in Mishicot that is home a variety of resort lodging accommodations, a fantastic golf course and many additional amenities. Located just a few miles from Lake Michigan, we offer a variety of fun amenities including an indoor pool, sauna and fitness club, outdoor tennis courts, miniature golf and weekend activities such as Saturday night bonfires. Our conference center and meeting rooms are ideal for events, meetings or workshops, and our gorgeous grounds make us a popular destination for weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Fox Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hills Hotel Mishicot
Fox Hills Mishicot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing