We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northwoods Dream”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minocqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Minocqua B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Northwoods Dream”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at Whitehaven, and we cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. This is actually our 2nd visit - we discovered Whitehaven last summer and will be returning for many, many years to come. My husband and I are absolutely in love with this place. Ron and Anita, the inn keepers / owners, are absolutely terrific and welcomed us like family. They treat all their guests that way - it is no wonder they are booked with so many returning guests.

The B&B is on Whitefish Lake (about 10-15 minutes outside of Minocqua), and is just gorgeous. Ron and Anita have done a beautiful job with this property. The inn is warm, welcoming and beautiful - a great room with huge fieldstone fireplace, a sunny breakfast nook overlooking the lake (the breakfasts are amazing!), and four charming guestrooms. The downstairs living area is also open to guests (with beer on tap!). The grounds have a fire pit for guests to have campfires, and there are plenty of places to enjoy the lake view and beautiful sunsets. From the moment you step out of your car and smell the refreshing north woods air (scent of pine and woods fills the air), you completely relax and forget about the rest of the world.

If you enjoy peace, tranquility, the beautiful north woods and the occasional (but friendly) ribbing and joking from Ron (he and my husband are just too much alike!), then you will love this north woods gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaribGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is very good B&B. I have mixed feelings about B&Bs, so I only go to them every couple of years. (I don't really enjoy talking with strangers at breakfast and having long chats with B&B owners, which seems required nowadays.)

Whitehaven is at the top of my list because of the setting, the high quality breakfast, and the good service.

I give the place four stars instead of five only because of two things: it is pretty isolated from dinner spots, shopping, and other tourist sites, plus the rooms are pretty booked up because of the large number of regulars who return every year.

My favorite aspect of the place, which is probably overlooked by many, is the large common living room on the main floor decorated in classic lodge style -- big furniture, shelves of books and games, with outdoorsy art.

Lastly, I haven't been here in a couple of years but I'm sure it hasn't changed much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Whitehaven B&B is a lovely property on the outskirts of Minocqua. Perfect for a relaxing long weekend or more. We enjoyed oatmeal pancakes, a variety of fruits, casseroles, baked goods and coffee in big mugs all served in the windowed breakfast room overlooking the lake. Ron and Anita treat their guests like family as evidenced by the number of repeat visitors they have. Boats are available and we even caught panfish right off the dock. There is plenty of opportunity to relax in the large fireplaced greatroom. The comfortable furniture makes you want to curl up with a book and a glass of wine at the end of the day. A nice getaway spot!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LindaWPeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Whitehaven Inn is the best B and B, at the very least, in the state of Wisconsin. With a family lake home less than 10 miles away we still find it necessary to experience the Whitehaven at least once a year. The Whitehaven has hit a trifecta. 1) Location,Location. They are located in a portion of Wisconsin with easy access and something to do for EVERYONE. For the outdoor sportsman you are in the hub of everything. Excellent trails for running, hiking, biking, snowmobiling. Canoeing and kayaking right out your door. If you are a shopper Minocqua is less than 10 miles away. And dining, you will never run out of great options. 2) THE INKEEPERS. Anita and Ron are like visiting family, except you don't feel the need to help around the house. They are this B and B. Always available for your whims, knowing the best recreational areas in the area, the best restaurants, and connecting you with whatever is needed to make your stay perfect. You are made to feel right at home from the moment you enter since you will probably continue a conversation started last visit. Anita and Ron are like that. They feel like your sister and brother-in-law. And what is amazazing is that all the guest are treated that way, and treat you the same. We have had some very, very interesting conversations at the Whitehaven with people we saw for only a part of one day. 3) the B and B itself. Anita and Ron have done an incredible job with this old lake estate. The rooms are all well decorated and comfortable. But, it is the common areas that shine. The bright and sunny breakfast nook, overlooking the lake. The morning gourmet breakfast is always followed by a relaxing hour of small talk. Also a perfect area to sit and play boardgames when you need to relax. Then there is the main gathering area. Huge fireplace surrounded by comfortable sitting chairs and sofas. So easy to sit here and have hours pass by
reading, quietly sitting, or continuing the breakfast discussion.
the lake is wonderful and quiet. Two nights ago we watched a mating pair of Loons 100 yards away fishing. As one Loon struggled with a fish a bald eagled swooped in and hovered feet above the ground, waiting for that fish. We were in Alaska in June and never had that great a viewing. Give the Whitehaven a shot since you will soon after be making a second visit.









  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tadgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Anita and Ron run a fabulous B & B here. The house is out of the way (can be a good thing or a bad thing - in our case, it seemed far from Minocqua, but once we saw the lake, it more than made up for the distance.)

The grounds are nothing short of country gorgeous - gardens, grass, lakeside views with glorious sunsets over the lake and frequent bald eagles and waterfowl. The dock is an extension of the living/relaxing space because of the comfortable and numerous chairs at the end of the dock and the shoreside of the dock.

The house is very nice - a wonderfully comfortable great room that has room for guests to sit, read, talk, play cards, etc. The breakfast room is spacious, airy, light, and shows beautiful views of the lake. Breakfasts were excellent. The company was equally excellent - Ron's stories show his sense of humor. The other guests were frequent guests and it was obvious that they had become personal friends, yet we were invited in on their conversations. Our room was fair - pretty much a room. It had a French door that had an obscured view of the lake, but there was nothing spectacular about this specific room (probably b/c there wasn't a place for us to sit and relax in the room.) The bed was comfortable and there was a private bath, and I'd prefer to have an adquate room and fabulous rest of the grounds than vice-versa.

This is a B & B as one should be operated. We would be left alone if we wanted to be. We were included, also, as we wanted. The other guests were nice, as well. One thing I've learned over time is that "fine people" associate with "fine people", and this is the case here, as well. When we visit a B & B, the experience is a shared one - shared with the other guests. Much of our impression is based on not just the hosts' professionalism and friendliness but also the quality of interactions of the guests. Top notch here (not because of income but because of quality.)

A lot of B & B's point guests to trendy restaurants that often don't have that good of food. Not so here. Every place they advised us on had excellent food.

One more thing - the B & B is motorcycle friendly. They have a nice spot to park bikes, and the riding around there is EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Here4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We've just got back from a two night stay with Ron and Anita at Whitehaven. This lovely B&B is right on the lake, with boats available and chairs on the deck for watching the sunset. The rooms are comfy and clean - ours had a balcony overlooking the lake. Ron and Anita are extremely welcoming - making us feel part of the family with nightly campfires with s'mores! Breakfast is homecooked and ample (pancakes, muffins, quiche) and served in a room with views of the lake. Anita went to some trouble to design a sightseeing drive for us for which we were grateful. There was a very interesting indian village nearby. Minocqua, with many shops and restaurants, was only 10 mins away. All in all a great place to stay - we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DBQDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minocqua hotels
7.2 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
226 reviews
7.1 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
22 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whitehaven Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1077 County Road F, Minocqua, WI 54548-9605
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Whitehaven b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing