We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resturant, food, and service”

Otto's Beer & Brat Garden
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Minocqua
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Great resturant, food, and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our experience at Otto's was great, we went there this past week to meet up with some friends and enjoy some food and beer. The server was very friendly and helpful, even took the time to explain how they make their brats and why they are so exclusive to Otto's! Upon her recommendation we tried the brat and it was nothing short of delicious that's for sure! The atmosphere I believed to be good it was a nice summer day, we were outside so I would expected bugs and ants like any other place would be but was not bothered by any which was nice. Their pork nachos were delicious and loaded with many toppings so they were generous! The bartenders are very friendly. All around I had a great experience and would definitely recommend this place to family and friends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    65
    25
    12
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went here recently based off of its rating on this site, how its ranked so high I have no clue. Yes, it has a beautiful outdoor courtyard in back and the old bar up front is impressive but that's about it. The indoor part of the restaurant in dark, dingy, and gloomy. The outside area in full of insects flying around and crawling on the tables. The service is terribly slow and sloppy( I guess that's what you can expect from high school and college age kids in seasonal work though ) The menu is very small and limited offering mostly sandwiches, and there are no "fries" on the menu. The worst part is the food we ordered was mediocre at best. The soft pretzel appetizer was disgusting, and for $5.00 a rip off . I doubt anything is made from scratch in house, most of the food probably comes in frozen and pre made from a distributer. That's fine if your at a fast food place but we expect more from a sit down eatery, especially at the high price they charge. This was our first and last stop at this establishment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible,terrible,terrible!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family went here for lunch last week, we have been here before and it was ok but it has gone downhill the last few years. Otto's has a neat Old World German atmosphere and great outdoor beer garden. While we waited (and waited) for our food my wife and I noticed how dirty the beer garden appeared in general. It seems ok at a glance but if you take a closer look at the tables, patio, and food carts you can see the filth, it is in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. My wife then went over to admire the fountain and flowers on the side wall by the area where they cook outside, she came back and said the area they were preparing the food was disgusting! There was food and garbage all over the floor and a gross odor coming from behind the ledge.

The staff was very inexperienced, they seemed very unorganized and slow. Our food finally came, my wife said her brat was good, the kids told us the hot dogs were ok, I had a burger that was not great. I have had a better quality and tasting hamburger at Culver's for about half the price! The quality and quantity of the food here is just not worth the high prices they charge for it.
We do not mind paying a higher price for a meal but in return one expects to get a quality product!

While the atmosphere here is nice in the summer there are other places in town offering a far better value and menus with a larger variety. There are others with a neat atmosphere as well, the MQ Brewing Co., The Boathouse , and Red Steer to name a few. The next time we are up north we will bypass Otto's and visit one of the aforementioned establishments.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
“Best burger !!!!!!! Super nice family restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We took out family there today and had an excellent experience waitress was super friendly and food was excellent highly recommend their burgers

Helpful?
Thank margofamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Have eaten at Otto's several time and enjoy their beer garden. It was a nice evening so we were able to eat in the beer garden. Had a frienly waiter and the food met our expectations

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRCWA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's Beer & Brat Garden also viewed

 

Been to Otto's Beer & Brat Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing