We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer paired with great food!”

Minocqua Brewing Co.
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Minocqua
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of Northern Wisconsin’s lake country, the Minocqua Brewing Company is housed in an historic landmark building located on the island city’s north shore. Built in 1927 as a Masonic Temple, the building was transformed into a micro brewery and restaurant seventy years later. The brewery houses a seven and a half barrel system producing seven kinds of ales and lagers. The bar features a fine selection of wines, and cocktails, along with the skillfully crafted signature beer selections. The brewery's restaurant offers an interesting assortment of appetizers, sandwiches, soups, and salads with a gourmet twist.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer paired with great food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped by for lunch and ordered the paddle sampler! We enjoyed every single one! We ordered the Artichoke Gratin appetizer which was beyond delicious. The calamari wrap was too unique to pass up and didn't disappoint! Either did the Carrot wrap! We will return....with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan7148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    159
    102
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived with a party of 4 on Saturday, July 20th at 7:15. We were told a 45 minute wait. After and hour we checked at the check in station and were told 15 more minutes. After 15 more minutes (8:30) we were told 15 more minutes. We asked for a Manager and asked him why a party of 18 and a party of 6 were seated before us when they had arrived at 8:00. We had called ahead and asked if they accepted reservations and were told no. He was unable to answer us. We asked if we could be seated in the next 10 minutes and he said, No, so we left after an hour and a half!! Would not have had a problem waiting 90 minutes if we had been told that up front and if we hadn't seen 4 parties that arrived after us being seated before us! There were several other upset groups that were waiting as long as we were after being told 45 minutes. Just BAD business. No apologies or offers for a free drink or appetizer. Just a sassy attitude! We drive down the road to Stingray's bar and Grill and were seated immediately and had a great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well Worth It - Great Beer and food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I just got back from eating at this great place. The food was great!!! My husband had the calamari wrap and he raved about it. I had the fish and chips and it had to the best I have eaten in a long time! The beer was also awesome. We waited upstairs while our table was being prepared. Fantastic views and friendly people. Highly recommend this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kutchej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get the Paddle Sampler”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a very nice dinner here, the food was delicious! If you like to try different tastes of beer, get the Paddle Sampler. they give you 6 of their beers to try, including at least one seasonal beer. Also, the fried sheese curds are something to taste. Being from a different part of the country, i had never heard of this and honestly, the name is a turn off! But, it really was delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great menu..Average service.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

When you walk in there is a sign on the door that says "we are not fast food". They need to add a sign that reads "our servers move like snails and our inattentive". I understand waiting for fresh food to be prepared. I don't understand waiting 10 minutes to get our drink order. The food is delicious but they need to work on their customer service. Even the host was cold and even rude. I hope it was just a fluke because the food is definitely something I'd go back for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animalcookie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minocqua Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Minocqua Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing