We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another typical WI supper club”
Review of Kusek's Red Steer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kusek's Red Steer
Ranked #32 of 56 Restaurants in Minocqua
Restaurant details
Nekoosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another typical WI supper club”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I can not say these place is the one to go if only one chance for dinner in the area. There is nothing special about it, typical supper club is the best I can describe it. The food was OK not superb. We ordered the artichoke dip with pita chips, the dip was like soup, hard to scoop with a flat piece of pita bread (only ten or so), when done with the pita bread, we still had more than half the dip considering to drink it? We asked for bread to be able to eat it. The entrees were OK, chicken marsala for my husband and scallops for me, the entrees took a long time but the restaurant was very busy and we were not in a hurry, so I don not consider it a negative. Then we ordered for dessert a brownie with ice cream, and we had to wonder if we got the "sample" brownie, because it could have double for a brick in time of need, I never had a worse brownie anywhere.
The waitress was nice and attentive, the food was expensive as typical in these places, so will we come back? No. An OK experience but not good enough for an encore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food -- Bad Management”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've eaten at The Red Steer for 20+ years. Tonite was the first time we visited since the new management took over. Four of us walked in on a Sunday evening, and weren't surprised when we were told the wait would be ~45min. When saw tables for four that were vacant, but we weren't called, we were a bit irritated.
When we finally got a table, we ordered, and it took about 1/2 hr to get our salads. Just as I was finishing my salad, the waitress came back to the table and told me that they were out of walleye, and I would have to choose another entrée. IT TOOK YOU 40 MIN TO FIGURE OUT THAT YOU DIDN'T HAVE WHAT I ORDERED????

To be fair, the food was good, although a bit overpriced. The Red Steer has been a revolving door, in part because the building is owned by the neighboring Chevy dealership, and operators are not owners, and never know when the lease will be yanked. It doesn't make for long-term business strategy. We'll skip the Red Steer from now on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank kaubashine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wisconsin Supper Club”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Charming and competent staff, Kathy is an efficient and talented bartender, and good food. Make reservations and enjoy a nice evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I have been here a few times with friends. A warm and welcoming place. The food is good and they have varied nightly specials. I eat out a lot. Jacobi's (my favorite), Chef Rene's at Timber Ridge (very good), but the Red Steer catches my eye for a meal just about weekly. Good value and service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Meal with Good Friends”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Red Steer has been a Minocqua landmark for many decades. I remember this restaurant operated by Eddie Gerzine, who served some of the best steaks in the North. The Kusek's would make Eddie proud. We enjoyed steaks and seafood, fresh off the charcoal grill. Portion size was just right, and the taste, flavor, and quality were excellent. Salads, soup, sides, bread, and dessert all enhanced a great meal. Service was good - could have been more attentive for our tastes, but this is early in the game with new owners. The owners thanked us and asked for comments. Good energy, great food, gateway location as you enter town. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank refelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kusek's Red Steer also viewed

 

Been to Kusek's Red Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing