We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”

Norwood Pines Supper Club
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I will admit the food was good, however, we were treated rudely! We were there by 4:30 for a 5:00 reservation. Unfortunately, they do not open until 5:00. So no cocktails for us. We went to a local bar for a drink, came back at 5:10. Apparently if your 10 minutes late that is unacceptable. We were only allowed an hour and a half for dinner and drinks and were told if we wanted dessert we could have dessert in the bar! No thank you! We skipped dessert! And because of the attitude of the hostess we will skip the Norwood Pines the next time we are up North! Disappointment!!
!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    69
    15
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“off the beaten path, but a very nice resturant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

was there for dinner with co-workers, food was very good and the wait staff was superb! the ambiance was very nice with the fireplace and the views of the forest. great bloody mary's!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Norwood Pines Supper Club - Wild Rice Clam Chowder - best ever”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found Norwood Pines Supper Club listed in "Wisconsin Supper Clubs" by Ron Faiola. We took our copy along just in case we ran into Tom or John - sure enough Shannon and Tom were our gracious hosts and took the time to reminisce about the rich history of Norwood Pines and their ownership over the past 18 years. Tom even took time to "autograph" our copy of Wisconsin Supper Clubs. Norwood Pines is a charming location, just west of Minocqua - set well back from Highway 70, in the tall pines and calm shores of Patricia Lake. We dined on the three season porch overlooking the manicured lawns and deer feeder - no deer visiting on this overcast, 45 degree evening but the porch was warm and comfortable. Our server, Mimi, was pleasant and efficient - checking on us with just the right frequency and keeping us comfortable in the soothing setting. She had a glass of Leese Fitch from San Clemente winery and he had his usual "J & C". For dinner, she had the grilled walleye - served to perfection with the Norwood Pines Wild Rice Clam Chowder, Relish tray, and uniquely tasty, twice baked potato. He had the Tenderloin Filet Oscar -topped with perfectly steamed Asparagus, Crab Meat,and Hollandaise sauce - also served with delicious Wild Rice Clam Chowder and the twice baked potato. Meals were delicious, however - the Wild Rice Clam Chowder is really something special - we were so impressed we purchased a "to go", big tub of the tasty soup, to take home with us. It was a real enjoyable evening, we loved the atmosphere, the food, and the service - and it was a real treat to learn more about the "Norwood Pines" history from Shannon and Tom. Norwood Pines is pretty popular and gets very busy for Friday Fish Fry's and the standard tourist weekends - Norwood Pines does accept reservations. Add Norwood Pines to your "must visit" list - I think you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCrosseIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is my favorite place for dinner in the northwoods. Always the finest meal and pleasant staff. It is nice they take reservations for two people because the wait is long if you do not make a reservation since it is a very popular place to dine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENDEAVOR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Supper Club”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have dined at Norwood Pines a number of times. Always been good food and excellent service. Very charming atmosphere. Always seem to see some wildlife out the windows. Only complaint would be too much food! Appetizers are so good and a large salad. They have a Portabella Stuffed steak that is delicious. A little pricey but have always felt it was worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwood Pines Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Norwood Pines Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing