We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Location is Beautiful and We Will Return Soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in a one bedroom whirlpool unit in the later part of June 2007. The whirlpool unit is the same price as a standard one bedroom unit and has more amenities. This waterfront property has a hillside and wonderful setting so we could relax and refresh. Accomodations were very good and the Staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast included orange juice, coffee, tea, cereal, bagels, bread, some rolls and milk. It was just right. We slept on the sleeper sofa in the living room and it was more comfortable than our bed at home. Our friends enjoyed the comfort of the private one bedroom. Bikes, canoes, and paddleboats were available. We will be back soon to explore the many beautiful lakes and walking/biking trails.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank StephMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for The Pointe Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 236 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at The Pointe in a 1 bedroom whirlpool suite. Contrary to other reviews and a coworker's experience, we found the Pointe to be very dirty and rather outdated. The "fully equipped" kitchen was full of dirty dishes and utensils. There were spiders descending from the celing, and mold growing on the soap dispenser in the bathroom. When we pulled off the comforter on our bed, we found that there was no top sheet. Luckily, we were able to locate one in the extra linens in the room. The whirlpool was so dirty that we could not use it. Also, the continental breakfast consisted of plastic-wrapped bagels and orange juice. Our second morning there, there wasn't even coffee available.

Despite all these issues, the location was beautiful, especially the bald eagle we could see perched outside our bedroom window. Given the other positive reviews of this resort, I do hope that this was an isolated bad experience. However, we will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank NorthwoodsWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a very relaxing stay at The Pointe. We had a one bedroom condo for 5 nights. No complaints! We wanted quiet and relaxation and that's what we got! Maid service was great, front desk staff was great.... very respectful of your privacy! We would go back definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rita_from_wentzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We have been staying at the Pointe for the past 5-6 years. Needless to say we really enjoy it. We book about a year in advance to get the room that best fits us. We have booked a 2 bedroom room and it comfortably sleeps 6 adults. The couch pulls out in a full bed. I believe every unit has a beautiful view of the lake. They have their own dock that you can reserve a slip, so you can bring a boat if you enjoy the water. The only problem we have ever had is the A/C. It isnt central air, every room has its own. It does a pretty good job but some areas gets a little warm (Like about 72). Sometimes tha A/C freezes up and you cant do anything about it, but just let it thaw out. But once again let me stress that is a very small inconvience.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank matang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison
17
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We are considering The Point for our wedding. The rooms are very nice with kitchen and beautiful view of the lake -- pretty affordable. Nice and quiet, with posted quiet hours starting at 10 p.m. They have places for campfires and a nice pier. The traffic is a little noisey when you are outside, but from our balcony, we could not hear. Just request to not be in building 4, which is right by the busy road. Nice and clean too. Great pool .. good cardio equip in the fitness room.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We arrived in Minocqua a day before our reservations began at another hotel but we didn't think it would be a problem. Unfortunately, it was. Nearly everywhere was booked. We found a room at the Americinn for $170 but choked on the price for a nothing special room. Instead, we went down the road to find The Point. There we got a one bedroom suite with a small kitchen area--all for the same price! And it was on the water to boot! It was lovely! The people were very friendly and helpful. Sitting on the dock by the water was relaxing. A nice place to stay. Highly recommend.

11  Thank katyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
24.8 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range: $79 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing