We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic get away”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on an impromptu get away over Memorial Day weekend. We stayed in the studio with a king and whirlpool. We enjoyed the air conditioning and the peaceful and private deck. The bed was very comfortable. We spent a lot of time down by the lake reading and relaxing and talking in the sun. The hot breakfast was great and the pool and hot tub were also very clean. We would return here and would enjpy brining our family also. The kayaks and canoes to rent are a plus also. Great service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b3schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the nice review. I am so happy that you and your husband had a wonderful stay at The Pointe. It is ironic that we are 3/10ths mile close to downtown, but as you experienced, still in a quiet setting where one can just relax the day away. We take great pride in our facilities and go the extra mile to make sure they stay in "tip-top" shape. I am glad you were able to take advantage of some of our resort amenities and found our service to be great. Please do come back; we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    62
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
97
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We just got home from spending 3 nights there and it was great. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. It started the night before we arrived when I called Dan at the desk to double check our reservation. I spoke with him about how I wanted a quiet relaxing time there and he advised me to change rooms from where we were originally going to be. He made a great choice for us, as the room had great views and was very quiet. The rooms were very clean but dated. The bed, couch and chairs were very comfortable. The free breakfast was very good and always hot. We asked the desk several times about various places to eat and they were right on with their recommendations. I would definitely stay here again , especially for the customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites for your getaway. We pride ourselves on having the finest, most helpful team members to service our guests. I'm glad to see that Dan, as well as other Team members were able to make your stay enjoyable. Our housekeeping team takes great care in preparing our rooms to provide the cleanest and most comfortable experience for our guests. Every year our condo owners do their best to keep up with furnishings and fixtures on an on-going basis. I am proud to announce that our hotel is in the process of replacing a majority of our condo-suite beds with new Serta Plush mattress sets which will certainly enhance our guests sleep comfort.

I, together with our Team, appreciate that you will be our guest in the future. We look forward to hosting your return trip, and hopefully many more thereafter. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for a getaway with my wife, had a very nice time at the Pointe Hotel. Clean, spacious room with a great view, the pool area was nice and clean, the breakfast was good. Overall, a great time. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDubb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review. I'm glad you found everything to your liking. Although the weather could have been better for your stay, I'm glad that didn't damper your spirit to enjoy your great stay. Thanks for being our guest; our team looks forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was a pleasure staying at this hotel. From the moment we checked in to the day we checked out, we were pleased with the service from the very pleasant staff and the quality of the amenities. The room was quite large with a nice view of the lake. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was much appreciated. The shower had plenty of hot water and an adjustable shower head with a good spray pattern. The pool, while not overly large, was very refreshing, especially after a soak in the Jacuzzi that was just the right temperature. We really enjoyed the free breakfast in the mornings that included a wide variety of both hot and cold items. We would definitely consider staying here again when we're in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wenson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read reviews from our guests that tell about their great experience at our resort hotel. We are so pleased your stay was just that. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow guests and those seeking out these reviews. Please do come back when you're in the area and we'll once again welcome you to a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at The Pointe Resort-the small timeshare resort next door to the Pointe hotel.Great location on the lake in Minocqua,Wisconsin.Lakefront location is best feature of this resort.Lake views from deck and living room window.Older resort that is well maintained and furnished.Full kitchen for dining in.Great relaxing location near water sports,fishing,boating.Docks and pier on property.Friendly staff.Great area to vacation.Would return in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First, let me say that I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Pointe Resort & Club timeshare resort.

However, to clarify, The Pointe Resort & Club and The Pointe Hotel & Suites, although neighbors, are two separate business entities. Although the name Pointe is in each entities name, each has it's own private ownership, management and hospitality teams and operate completely separate of each other. This is sometimes confusing to the traveler and this is the opportune time to clarify who we are...just so you and others know.

Again, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at PRC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our recent stay started with a long wait at the front desk (along with another couple) No service bell to ring, so we just stood there wondering........

the room was impressive at first impression. We went out on one of the decks that the room had and found a dirty diaper.

My step-son and I went to use the pool and most hotels ask you not to bring room towels down to the pool because they have special 'pool towels'. So, we hopped in the pool, went to find the towels when we were done, and didn't find any. So, we walked, dripping wet back to our suite.

The space of the room was amazing. At over 800 square feet, about the size of our house....but, when you started looking, there were cracks, molding coming off, a large hole in our bathroom door, etc..etc...

It fell short of my expectations........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying with us and for the review of our property. Our guest's input is always appreciated.

Our Front Desk Associates are never far from the Guest registration area unless they are attending to a personal need or a guest request. If there is not a manager or fellow team member available to cover their momentary absence, a sign is displayed at the registration area indicating their return momentarily.

As for the diaper incident. I do apologize for this situation. Our Executive Housekeeper has met with her team to reiterate the importance of checking all deck and patio areas, even during the winter months when they are seldom used.

Pool towels can be acquired at the hotel's front desk, just steps away from the pool area. At check-in, guests are provided verbal and written instructions of select, important information that includes pool hours of operation and where to acquire pool towels.

We have great pride in our room maintenance program. I have personally inspected this room finding nothing out of order other than the small 1/2 inch hole caused by a door stopper towards the bottom of the bathroom door. This has been rectified. I am interested in finding out more about your room concerns, please contact me toll free at 888-356-4431. Thank you.

When you visit Minocqua in the future, I hope you will give us another try by choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your "home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent 2 nights at The Pointe in a studio whirlpool suite (bldg 4) and it was amazing! We snowmobile and the access to the trails, gas, restaurants & trailer parking was great. The hotel was so quiet at night it was almost like we were the only ones there. After a long day on the sleds the whirlpool was relaxing and we slept great. We enjoyed the continental breakfast (fresh hot waffles included)! It was nice having the fridge and microwave for snacks & wine/cocktails in the evening. And a full size coffee maker for getting going in the morning. We will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: Bldg 4 is the furtherest (but not too far) from the pool & lobby so no hallway activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the nice review of our resort hotel. We appreciate your comments. I am so happy that our accommodations and amenities made your stay enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable. Thank you for choosing The Pointe; we appreciated the opportunity to be your "home away from home" and taking care of your every need. We look forward to hosting your future lodging needs when in the Minocqua area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
68 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Property: The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing