We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just spent 3 nights there we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite was great, roomy, 2 decks, great location, like the northwoods themed rooms.

Staff was friendly, beds cozy, TVs were nice also.

Would highly recommend folks stay at the point

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Ryan,

Thank you for your nice review of our property. We're happy that our room upgrade met your comfort needs. We appreciate you choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your Minocqua lodging home. If we can be of further service, please don't hesitate to contact us. We hope you will choose us again whenever in the Minocqua area. Best wishes to you this Holiday Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

THANK YOU for your role in making our association's Autumn Retreat Conference such a successful event!

Jen Stough and the rest of the crew at The Pointe went above and beyond throughout the entire event to make sure our group was welcomed and treated as Northwoods family. From the picturesque setting, to the cozy rooms (with fireplace, kitchenette, and even jacuzzi in the bedroom), to the ideal location and the very reasonable group event pricing, we couldn't have asked for more from an authentic "Up North" venue. There may be more "city-inspired" choices in Minocqua, but The Pointe holds true to its roots.

Jen was an absolute pleasure to work with from the months leading up to our event, through the consistent follow up during our stay, to her friendly goodbye at checkout. A huge shout-out as well to Tanya at the front desk who took such good care of every guest that entered lobby. We (you all) have received many well deserved compliments from our retreat attendees- I know our group was highly satisfied and looks forward to returning, whether for business or pleasure...our association hopes to do the same in working with The Pointe Hotel & Suites again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IIAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host and service your association's Autumn Retreat Conference. It is our goal to make every event at The Pointe a success; it's a goal of ours and I'm glad yours was just that...a success.

Thank you for your kind words about Jen, Tanya and the rest of our team. Everyone at The Pointe knows how important a business retreat to a family getaway is to those involved, and we work diligently to make sure not a beat is missed in taking care of our guests. I'm glad my crew succeeded in making your group feel welcome and like family.

We haven't forgot our "Up North" roots, as we have done our best over the past 25 years to continue our consistency in providing a luxury, but casual Northwood's experience of wonderful lakeside accommodations, relaxation, fun and the friendliest, most caring hospitality team. If it's important to you, it's important to us.

We look forward to welcoming your association and it's members back to The Pointe in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 days at the Pointe Hotel and Suites. This is a wonderful place to stay and extremely well maintained. The pool and whirlpool were welcome additions at the end of a busy day. It is within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants and such a beautiful location. We enjoyed the bonfire one evening and watching a bald eagle outside of our 3rd story window. The views are beautiful and the suites are very spacious. We enjoyed a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Some days we went down for breakfast and on other days we had breakfast in our room. I'm sure this is a very busy place in the summer but in early October it was very peaceful. We rented bikes and spent a day on the Bearskin Trail. I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends or family.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the backside of the hotel. These rooms are further away from street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnieg1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

First, thanks for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your lodging home while in Minocqua; we appreciate that! We take great pride in maintaining our property. Many guests have shared this comment with us over many years. We have a great annual capital improvement plan and a great staff that makes it all happen! Our location is nice, not downtown in the hustle and bustle; but, just blocks away in a quiet wooded setting overlooking Lake Minocqua. Your comments have outlined just some of the amenities and fun we offer our guests, We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting your return visit. And, thank you for recommending us to friends and family; we'll take good care of them as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pros:
1) Staff is really friendly, cheerful and veryhelpful. The other couple we were with had a really bad bed, and they had no problem moving them immediatey.
2) Rooms are suites, really cozy, with fully equipped kitchens, flat screen TVs in each room, electric fireplace.
3) Outside, there are gas barbeques on the grounds; firepits with wood and paper supplied; comfortable chairs and tables.
4) Spectacular view no matter where your room is located.
5) Someone complained about outside noise; however, we slept through a huge storm didn't know it happened. All the rooms are on the lake side, hallway is facing road, and even at that the road is far away and down a hill. The only rooms which partially face the highway are the 2 BR suites which are on the north tip of the building, but all of their patios/balconies still face the lake.

Cons:
1) Towels in rooms and in pool need to be larger and softer. Pool towels were TINY and scratchy. Since they encouraged eco-friendliness, should be supply room with more bath towels (we got two), and larger, because they were always damp from not completely drying over four day visit.
2) Note the fact sheet you receive at check-in: complete housekeeping only occurs after four days; the daily service is ONLY trash removal, making up bed and replacement of coffee packets (we had a glitch in that housekeeper forgot to replace coffee every day, had to ask)

[BTW, coffee maker takes large (12 C) basket filters, if you want to bring your own coffee and filters - the supplied coffee is a very light roast.]

3) Breakfast is supplied in lobby area. However, it's limited to commercially prepared and pre-peeled hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, deli-sliced warm thin ham slices, southern style (lump) hash browns, some kind of cereal, apples and limited selection of toastable items.
Would be nice to add yogurts, muffins, small danish and variety of fruits. We were just at a Hampton Inn two weeks ago, and in addition to all of the above mentioned foods, there was scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits & gravy. Point is, if you serve meat and potatoes, why hard-boiled eggs?
4) Pool area is really nice, but really DARK - looks like it used to have multiple skylights, but now sealed over.
5) Rooms extremely quiet, contrary to LisaVan19 comment. So quiet that we weren't even aware that we slept through a tremendous thunderstorm. All rooms face west to lake, with only the hallway on the east side; the highway is on the east, across the parking lot, and down a large hill. The only rooms with any highway exposure are a few of the 2BR suites, which are all on the north tip of the building. I believe three of them have east side facing highway. But, all of those 2BR units have balconies/patios facing north to the lake and across the lake downtown Minocqua, not facing to the highway.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side are quieter; first floor rooms have advantage of walkout to grounds, while rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichSGeneva_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate all the nice things you have said about our establishment; but, let me address some of the "con" items that you elude to. Please understand that we do appreciate your comments as it helps us get better at what we do to service our patrons.

First, our linen service is not done in house. We utilize the services of a large, well know national firm to provide our linens. Our pool towels are the standard size and quality that can be found in many hotels throughout the country. The scratchy feel of the towels is due to EPA regulations that do not allow softners to be used in commercial laundry applications. Also, these products have been eliminated in some cases due to allergens. Thank you for your suggestion about bath towel counts in the rooms, we have looked into it and have made appropriate adjustments.

Our establishment is a condominium hotel and our room housekeeping services are common to other condominium properties that operate as hotels. Our daily services provide trash removal, making of beds, replenishment of towels if requested (green intiative), and replacement of toiletries. However, if daily full service is requested, that is certainly provided.

Continental breakfast: because of the limitations of not having a full service kitchen, there are some breakfast items that we unable to provide. Our breakfast is continually being evaluated and modified for improvements. This is where our guests comments and suggestions become very worthy. Even with our limitations, we have received very positive guest comments about our upgraded continental breakfast,

Pool area: thank you for your comments regarding our pool area. The area has lighting that surpasses all State and County public safety and health codes. We have found over the years that our guests prefer a more soothing atmosphere and would like to see less harsh lighting. Even with that preference, we still meet lighting codes and regulations.

We hope this clarifies your concerns, and once again know that we appreciate your comments. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is right on the highway, so no matter where you stay, the noise is tremendous. We did have a lakeview room, but the room overlooked the highway and lake was across from it. So loud. There was a nice jacuzzin in our room and the bedding was comfy. The room was clean, but they charge $2 for ice, which I thought was odd. Because of the location I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far from the highway as possible. We were in the first building right by the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaVan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property.

Yes, twelve of our rooms do overlook the highway and north bay, while fifty-seven rooms overlook the quiet west bay of Lake Minocqua, well away from the highway. All hotel properties within close proximity of downtown Minocqua have highway locations; it is difficult to escape highway noise. The style of the unit chosen is only located in that area of the hotel. Guest comfort is priority, and an upgrade would have been attempted upon request, and with unit availability.

Thank you for your comments about the room. Our crew takes great pride in providing our guests with well maintained, comfortable rooms.

I appreciate your comments. I hope you will return for another stay. Please ask our Guest Service Representative for room opportunities overlooking the west bay of Lake Minocqua.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Minocqua. The location is beautiful for kids and adults. You can swim, fish, kayak, canoe,barbecue or just relax. The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful even during the busy labor day weekend. There is a lot to do in the area but this place makes your trip special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks Mark, for your guest response. You have listed some of the many amenities our resort hotel offers our guests, and I hope you had a chance to use some of them while our guest. The Pointe Hotel & Suites is more than just a motel room, and more and more of our first stay guests are experiencing what many repeat guests already know...our amenities will enhance any guest lodging experience. Sounds like you had a great time at The Pointe and in the Minocqua area. I hope you will return again and experience that fun once again. Thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The pointe was all the comments given stated and more. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable and the view was beautiful. They served a nice complimentary breakfast each day and the pool and hot tub were very nice. Great location.
I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didee926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words in your review. Everything you commented on, our hospitality team strives to accomplish on a daily basis. Our goal has been and will continue to be a simple goal; to provide the best guest experience possible. We appreciate you choosing The Pointe as your lodging choice when visiting the Minocqua area. We hope to see you in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
71 reviews
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range: $79 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing