We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to the Pointe for 6 days in June. Great location, you can walk to town for all your needs. The only downside to this place is it is quite a walk up and down stairs to get to your boat and to get to the water. The town itself and the hotel were not very crowded which we enjoyed. The rooms are very spacious, clean and we loved having the full kitchen in the room. We will definitely be back...... They also offer continental breakfast which was a nice added touch. They have an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub which we did not use, but it is nice to be able to have that option. The front desk was very friendly upon check in and helpful if you had any questions. We have normally stayed at a resort but chose to do the hotel this time around and we were not disppointed. We would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, pick the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Pointe Hotel & Suites of Minocqua. Your stay was at a perfect time of year when weather is usually very nice and outside of the summer influx of great numbers of visitors. As you became aware, our facility is more of a resort hotel offering many amenities a hotel would not. I'm glas you enjoyed your accommodations and some of the many amenities we offer. Our hospitality team makes every effort to nake sure they provide the best, most relaxing stay possible for all our guests...that's priority #1. Thank you for your recommendation to family and friends, we'll make sure we take good care of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
92
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Early June special rate made this a fantastic deal for me when I was in Monocqua for mid-week work, but wanted to enjoy some woodsy retreat time too. I searched and read and think I found the best combo. of a private, woods-lake view retreat experience, even though the Pointe is just across the bridge from the main streets of town. Be sure to visit their web site for specials!

. Mid-week was very quiet, but Thurs. night it startred to fill with some large groups and was a bit noisier, but overall the room had the feel of being away in the woods that I wanted. The wifi in the room was fine and free, but otherwise my Sprint smartphone service was on roaming, so I appreciated that.

The condo. I had (one bedroom with great jacuzzi tub in front of a small private screened balcony) was perfect for one or two people, as the bed was big and the living room/ dining table/ kitchenette area was nice too. 2 Big, flat screen TVs, the basics in the kitchen (big fridge), and nice woodsy decor (not too cutesy), two sinks in bathroom, but the shower was small, made me very comfortable when I was in the room. I didn't think much of the breakfast, but I usually don't, so I only visited one morning and it had been moved so maybe not the regular. This was just cereals and toast and coffee and joice, it seemed. No restaurant or room service on site. Cleaning is minimal for short stays bt that was fine for me.

The location is great, on the main highway through the area (51) and there are fabulous places to get out into the woods (check out the Rural Route K) just about 20 minutes north, plus the basics of WI resort towns like restaurants and mini- golf and fishing etc. right in Minocqua. Best restaurants I went to were the Island Cafe (fabulous hummus and pita app.) and Minocqua Brewing Co. (nice beer, grilled cheese and tomoato soup).

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the lake. First floor meant going down stairs but opened out at ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your review of The Pointe Hotel & Suites, As you found during your stay, although our hotel is only 3/10ths mile from downtown Minocqua, well within walking distance, our setting is on five acres of woods and water. Yes, Lake Minocqua (what we like to call "our natural amenity" surrounds half our property with 800 feet of gorgeous shoreline.

We encourage everyone to visit our website often to explore possible last minutes specials as there could be some great deals to take advantage of, especially in the non-peak rental periods like June.

We do offer six different styles of rooms from deluxe hotel rooms (Studios) to One & Two Bedroom Suites, all with views of Lake Minocqua. I'm pleased that your accommodation worked well for you. Because our rooms are all privately owned condominiums that we rent, we do offer different housekeeping services than that of a standard hotel/motel. However, we would surely take care of any housekeeping needs any guest would request as we are here for the guest(s) and would want everyone's stay to be very comfortable.

We don't offer a restaurant, as years of comments from our guests tell us they would rather explore the many fine dining establishments (and there are many) peppered throughout Minocqua and the Northwoods, and we're ready to direct our guests to a restaurant or supper club that will meet their dining pleasure.

We appreciate your comments and will put them to work for us to better our services to our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night after some weather changed our plans about camping. Great front desk clerk - very friendly and professional. Will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We're sorry the weather did not cooperate for your campning plans. However, we are pleased that you chose The Pointe Hotel & Suites for your lodging need. Thank you for being our guests. We look forward to hosting your next stay and once again making your stay relaxing and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel is located just south of the actual "island" of Minocqua. It has beautiful rooms that are just recently updated. There is ample dock space for your boat as well as a large parking lot for any kind of vehicle (snowmobile/car/truck/van/etc.). In addition, in the summer you have space to grill out (and even use their grills to do so).

You can score some very decent winter time deals here. In the summer it books up fast (but that's anywhere up in Minocqua area!) But there are plenty activities in the winter to keep you busy, such as snowmobiling, ice fishing, ice golf (once a year), snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, and many others.

The front desk at the Pointe is friendly and accomodating. We had a baby staying with us and they were so helpful with extra towels and pillows! The other great attribute is being close to everything. You are able to access the quaint downtown area by just crossing the bridge (which is pedestrian friendly).

Room Tip: Winter travel is always cheaper. If booking in the summer months, do so early and check the Minocqua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbrbnchic826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort hotel. Our hotel crew takes great pride in offering premier accommodations, amenities and as important -- friendliness and caring. Guests have only a few opportunities during the year to getaway from their everyday responsibilities and we are determined to make that time away the best. There is no substitute for quality rooms, great amenities, top notch service and cleanliness. Yes, we do offer great getaway specials throughout the year; it is important to watch postings on our website and Facebook. As you have discovered, our location is second to none. With every room overlooking 800 foot of shoreline on Lake Minocqua, lots of amenities and just a short walk to downtown Minocqua, The Pointe is truly the the perfect resort hotel for relaxation and fun. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Fiancee and I stayed there for the second time. Enjoyed our two nights in a very nice large room with whirlpool tub , full kitchen, seperate bedrrom and walkout balcony with view of the lake. Did not dine there and the continental breakfast was mediocre at best but overall a very nice place.

Room Tip: Get room with whirlpool in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay once again with us. The unit you stayed in by your definition is our One Bedroom Premier Suite, which is one of the more popular choices of our guests. You found that one of the nicest things about all our rooms is the ability to walkout of the room onto your private balcony deck or patio and enjoy the views of our property's "natural amenity", Lake Minocqua. We appreciate your input pertaining to our continental breakfast as we continually strive to meet the needs of our guests. Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I went up to Minocqua for the weekend as a getaway and had a tremendous time. The Pointe is well managed and the staff courteous, The breakfast is ample for anyone, the rooms are very clean and large enough to contain a family with adequate room to spread out. Its location is only a couple minutes walk across the bridge and the view of the lake is outstanding. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: If you wish for a view of the lake, rooms up on the top floor offers the best scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oskar7329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for your response. Our hospitality team thanks you for your kind words and wonderful review of our resort hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loves working in a people industry and because of that it is easy to keep our guests happy and our rooms and amenities top notch for our guests to enjoy. There is great pride in what we do, and if we acheive putting a smile on your face and great times in your memory, we've acheived our goal. Thanks for being our guest and we hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a great hotel for a family with active or inactive kids, couples, or just a getaway. It is right on the water and just across the street from a beach and a very close walk to the town. The staff is very welcoming and happy to help you with any needs. We stayed in the summer for our second year in a row and we love it. The town is so much fun and the people are so nice. The only down side is the pool which is relativity small. Our family was two boys and parents. The boys were 12 and 10 and they never got bored. Its nice to be able to rent a boat and go right on the water hassle free. Also i would recommend if you want the best view to ask for a hotel on the upper levels. But, the ground level floor is nice because after you go out on a walk or fishing you can just walk right around to your room and then go in your door. It was very quite and the beds were very cozy. Also the complimentary breakfast was very nice. Overall this was a great exsperience.

Room Tip: For best views ask for top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites of Minocqua for your getaway. It sounds like your family had a wonderful time with us and in the Minocqua area. We appreciate your kind review words as we do use all guests comments as a barometer of how we are doing in our hospitality service to our guests. It is very important for us to offer all our guests a superior stay and the best accommodations, amenities and customer service possible. It sounds like we acheived this goal with your family. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will find a time to rejoin us in the very near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Property: The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing