We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waters of Minocqua
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Minocqua)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Concord Inn(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$148
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pointe Hotel & Suites(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Aire Motel(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
118
90
55
16
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
90
55
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkhot tubgift shopstarbucks coffeewafflesloft suitepool areaindoor waterparkhotel is beautifulbirthday partiesbasketball hooplimited menufamilies with childrencontinental breakfastbeds were very comfortablestaff was very friendlysmall table
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 293 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated!! Was disappointed that the juice machine for the free breakfast was out of order on Saturday but they didn't put out any pitchers of juice to compensate for this. Housekeeper turned our heat off in our room we came back to a freezing cold room which I was NOT happy about and they didn't put any garbage liners in the garbage can. The water slides should have warnings that as an adult the water is not deep enough at the end. I about broke my leg and knee. The indoor/outdoor hot tub was a great feature! Overall a great value for the money! Beautiful decorations! The front desk staff was friendly. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graduation_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention concerning the continental breakfast. I have checked into the issue and our breakfast staff have been instructed on what to do if they have an issue with any of our juice machines from now on. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have made some procedure adjustments to eliminate this problem in the future.

Our housekeepers normally do an outstanding job in cleanliness and making sure each guest is well taken care of. We are sorry that a garbage liner was missed in your room and that they turned the heat down or off. They sometimes do turn them down if the room seems too warm beyond a normal comfort zone, but unfortunately it may have been adjusted lower than it should have been and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Lisa B, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visit the water park here several times per year. It is always warm and the staff is great. This water park is a bit smaller than others we have visited but it is the perfect size for my family. Our kids are 2, 4, 6, and 8. My husband and I can sit on one of the lounge chairs and see the entire park and all of our kids. It's so super relaxing. The kids love that they can go outside in the pool and the hot tub. The kiddie pool water is always so nice and warm and clean.
We recently stayed at the hotel for the first time and we're pleasantly surprised by the room. It was warm, clean, and very large. All of the staff were friendly and very accommodating.
Our whole family cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review about your experiences here at the Waters. We try to create the best atmosphere for family fun we can. We hope that you will join us again very soon. Thanks for the kind words ~ Lisa B, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The waters is a very nice place with nice rooms, and a nice pool area. That being said, it is obviously managed by people who are either really cheap or not concerned about customer satisfaction. The hallway leading to our room was freezing, which is a big problem when walking back and forth to the pool (pool is on the far end of hotel, VERY long hallway). The door between the indoor outdoor pool was broke (all winter, according to the lifeguard) which caused the whole pool area to be quite chilly in January. The outdoor hot tub, a huge plus in winter, was closed almost the entire weekend (too cold according to the lifeguard, but I don't think they had the appropriate staff to deal with it). The snack bar opened two hours late, and frequently had a sign dating "be back soon" while the dude was on a smoke break. The "restaurant" (really a bar with a big plain open room with a few tables) only had one chef working on a Saturday night where they were at full capacity, and we were told it would be a 45 minute wait to get served even though there were many tables open (the bartender was also the hostess and waitress). We were forced to order pizza and ended up having starving kids who couldn't eat until 7 o'clock. Nice place, but it would be nice to see them put an appropriate number of people on during busy periods, or at least get a management that cares.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Craig,

The Waters does have Management that truly cares about the experiences our guests have and we work hard to achieve perfection for our guests. We started a new menu and pizzas in our restaurant a few weeks back and the demand for "dining in" has tripled since we did that. We were not as prepared for influx of business we have had since then and for that I am sorry for the delay in service. I am in the process of adding additional help as we can accommodate our guests better and faster.

I feel terrible that you were not able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub during your stay. When the wind chill is below zero we do not open the outside hot tub. It doesn't have anything to do with number of employees; it has to do with the health and safety of our guests subjected to below zero temperature's. As for the pool door in question, a slat was broken off by a guest and we are waiting on a replacement part to repair it. We hope that it is here soon to better keep the cold out of the building.

We truly do care about your needs and every guest that joins us here at the Waters. We hope that you will give us another try so that we can prove it.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff was very helpful in getting the room set up, Heidi in particular went out of her way to make our party room very accommodating, from the beginning to the party end. The tables were elegant for the meal and cleared away for the music and dancing that followed. She stayed late to set up the area again for our breakfast buffet. The water park was a great place for the kids to play with a full view window from the banquet room area for parents to keep an eye on the action going on in the water park area. The rooms were spacious and clean, would recommend this place. The reason for very good not excellent was the outside caters could have used more help in getting the meals on the tables for the banquet dinner, the breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are so pleased you chose us for your holiday party this year. We try our best to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. Thank you for bringing the catering concerns to my attention and I have passed your concerns on to our caterer to provide more staff in during this type of meal service here at The Waters. We hope that you will join us again for your next holiday event.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

My family selected the Waters as our base camp for a weekend of snowmobiling and ice fishing. This was my first time here, and I was surprised by how clean and spacious the room was. We had three couples, and we stayed in a loft room for a very reasonable price for a weekend. The water area is nothing like the parks in the Dells, but who needs all of the craziness that comes with those anyway? Our toddler loved the kiddie pool area, and the water temperature was perfect - warm! I loved the outside hot tub in the below zero air, although i knew my limit before my hair froze solid. The breakfast area became a bit jammed, but I think we hit the rush of skiers and others trying to get out early to enjoy the new snow. The beds were comfy. Skeeball in the arcade was fun. I really have nothing bad to say!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank melimo1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and making us your home away from home. We are glad your family enjoyed the water park experience and we hope you will come and visit us again this winter.

Lisa B
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews