We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waters of Minocqua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice short weekend”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We came in late on a friday. The bar was open so we checked it out. Good atmosphere. Drinks were about what you would expect. Bartender was very friendly and the service was great.
Overall the room was nice and clean. Wish we would have had more time to spend a little more time in it as the view out the back with the patio was very nice. You could tell this room had housed a family pet for a period of time due to the smell but it wasn't overwhelming by any means.
Same with the waterpark area. We didn't get time to enjoy it but it looked like it would have been a fun time. I think it was a large hot tub that I saw and would have been in heaven to use it. Pool hours are wonderful as well, been a long time since I've seen a pool area open longer then 8or 9.
Overall this hotel was a nice quiet stay. I just wish we would have had more time to experience more of it. Definitely recommend this place for a weekend getaway with or without children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    80
    51
    11
    14
See reviews for
149
50
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birnamwood
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband works road const. so in order to spend time with him in the summer we hit the road and go with him. I have been doing this for many years with children and have NEVER stayed in a place as warm and friendly as The Waters.The kids love it, the pool and water slides keep them busy. The rooms are as comfy and clean as home, thanks to a "5" "Star" housekeeping staff (i will miss them beautiful,outgoing friendly ladies) they all go above and beyond and it shows from when you first walk in and through the whole building and beautiful landscaping.. Everyone at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. Carl always comes through for my husband, if he calls him at 8:00 in the eve he always has a bed for him.We do prefer the 3rd floor with a back view. Like i said JUST LIKE HOME..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Anse, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband has medical issues and we always come to Minocqua for the Marshfield Clinic. We have stayed several times and we feel very comfortable there. All of the staff is very friendly. Carl is our favorite at the front desk. He has always gone above and beyond to make us feel at home and he is very helpful. It is a very family friendly place to stay. My daughter has stayed with us there since she was 4 and she just loves every time we come down, and she is now 8 and it doesn't get old for her. Minocqua is a beautiful place to come to regardless of what your reason.

Thank you, the Sikkila's from the U.P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you made about our hotel and staff. We strive to be your "home away from home" and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The WOM was this year's location for our annual family reunion. It had an "Up North" quaint feel to it, but for me, the rooms were a bit dated and summer camp-like. They were, however, clean with lots of towels and a mini fridge, which was a plus. I wish, I would have asked for a third-floor room in the back -- we were facing the parking lot, not conducive to sitting on our patio. Breakfast was o.k., but again -- this is a really family place with all of its great amenities including the game room, and water park -- so, morning was a bit frenetic with kids running about. The ability to get Starbucks from the gift shop was a lifesaver.

The lobby has a very Northwoods kitschy feel with lots of tables and areas where family can sit and catch up -- for us -- that was great . . . it was also conveniently located to downtown.

I love Minocqua - but WOM is really more for families with young kids . . . I would come back to the area, but perhaps stay at a result with a more adult feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor in the back -- very nice and quiet with a great view . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Waters of Minocqua was a nice stay for one night before we were able to take advantage of all the outdoor amenities of our cottage stay for the rest of our time in this area. The rooms are large and great for large families like ours. The water park is small but still nice enough for our kids to get wet and enjoy. There is even complimentary breakfast. I would definitely recommend it especially if you are in the Minocqua area when the weather outside doesn't permit you to indulge. We would definitely return to this destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your nice comments about our hotel and hope that you will join us again on your next trip to Minocqua.

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I came up Labor Day weekend with a family and friends to view The Waters as a possible wedding venue. As a first time visitor, I did not know what to expect. I will say, overall I was very pleased.
The rooms were spacious and clean with plenty of towels and bedding available, The housekeepers were very nice when we asked for some extras. A big thing with me is that the bed was very comfortable, and it was great for relaxing and sleeping.
The morning breakfast has the hotel standards...the waffles, bagels, cereals and some fruit and juice. The coffee is free in the lobby all day. In their gift shop you can buy Starbucks, other fancy concoctions and some snack items. There are some fantastic food options in the town!
I did not have time for the water park as I was busy looking a wedding venues. Other members in our group said it was fun and it did look very nice with slides, pools and a great little kiddie area.

As an event venue, it looks like a wonderful place and they really go out to work with you. You get a lot for your money. The event coordinator is Shirley and she is very nice to work with.

The real attraction here is the "water park for families." That is how it is advertised and I think they do a great job of that! As long as you do not expect this to be a big name Dells resort, or a luxury spa you will be happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchaserChicago_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our hotel and we hope that you will join us again on your next trip to Minocqua!

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice accommodations in the Northwoods. Water park is beginning to show its age. Families with children will probably enjoy it but it is not worth the cost for an adult who is only interested in a swimming pool and a hot tub. The loft room we had on the third floor was very spacious and very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was friendly and conscientious. Be aware that the stated room rate has a number of fees and taxes added to it. Ask for the final price that your credit card will be charged per night so you won't be surprised on the final day of your stay. The breakfast in the lobby is a nice amenity. It is kept clean and well stocked.

Room Tip: The third floor loft rooms will easily accommodate 6 people but there will not be a great deal of pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opplbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.8 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
67 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Property: The Waters of Minocqua
Address: 8116 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548-9145
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing