We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable family visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waters of Minocqua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family visit”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for one night with my family. My 5 1/2 year old enjoyed the waterpark area (not very big but kept him busy). The water area is nothing compared to parks like in the dells but much better than hotels with basic pools. Rooms were nice. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was adequate. Only complaint was that there was not a huge food option, only a snack bar in pool area, restaurant was closed during the day in the middle of the week

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments you made about your stay at The Waters. We are a perfect spot for families with small children who can enjoy our zero depth kiddie pool and activity pool area. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Minocqua.

Sincerely

Lisa B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    53
    11
    14
See reviews for
152
52
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I attended my 50th Class Reunion and made reservations for 4 nights at The Waters. It was not only a great reunion but the accomodations at The Waters were excellent. We had a 2nd floor room that was extremely clean and overlooking Hwy 51. All the personnel were very friendly, professional and made our stay enjoyable. We would recommend The Waters to any traveler or visitor that wants a great place to stay to enjoy all that the Minocqua area has to offer.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms facing Hwy 51 provide an excellent view while the lower level rooms overlook the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments you wrote about our hotel and staff. Our goal is to make everyone's stay the best guest experience we can provide. Thank you again and we hope that you will be joining us again on your next trip to Minocqua.

Sincerely

Lisa B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided to come to the area only one day in advance. Booked the evening before and brought our dog. We were given a ground level room with a sliding door walking out to the parking lot. This made it easy to take our pet in and out with no trouble. This is just one example of the accommodating nature of the hotel. We had a great experience with the pool area. Our two children loved the water slides, indoor/outdoor hot tub and pool, and even the kiddie pool. Convenient snack bar complete with wine and beer poolside. Another cool thing is the trail in the back of the hotel. Easy access to the trail provides a quick and beautiful hike. When on vacation, it's nice to have options for the kids, and the pool, arcade and outdoor activities at the hotel made a nice addition to the already fun-filled days that the area provided. The location is a bit further from downtown Minocqua than I had hoped, but everything around here is so beautiful I didn't really notice. Also worth mentioning is the awesome price. You get a lot for your money with this hotel if you plan on using the water park. Other places we've stayed have charged extra for their water parks. The Waters of Minocqua includes use of the pools and slides in the room price. It was nice to be able to just go for an hour here and there and not feel like we were wasting a bunch of money.

The only thing that I really wish were available would be a different restaurant setup. We didn't eat at the pub inside the hotel because it wasn't open when we wanted to eat. It would have been nice to eat on the balcony overlooking the pool area while our kids played.

As far as appearance goes, the whole facility seemed very clean and had great woodsy decor. It definitely had a lodge feel to it... OH, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. My kids even slept in past 8:00!! Overall great experience!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you shared about your experiences here at The Waters! Your comments will go a long way in letting others in on what a great vacation spot Minocqua and The Waters can be. We hope that you will join us again for another getaway soon!

Sincerely

Lisa B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I only had one night and my flights were delayed by four hours so I did not arrive until 9 PM and checked out the following morning. It was a Sunday night and almost empty. The place was beautiful lodge decor and very clean. Check-in was easy and quick. The room was large, clean and contained fridge, microwave and a very comfortable bed. I had a balcony that I enjoyed for about 30 minutes to relax after a frustrating travel day. Breakfast was rather sparse compared to what I usually see. Still, this was a great looking property. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a very high cathedral ceiling and add to the beauty of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We hope that you will return again soon and for an extended stay so that you can enjoy more of the hotel amenities. We do appreciate your comments about our breakfast and we are please to say we are working on a better plan for the summer.

Thanks

Lisa Bilogan, GM
The Waters of Minocqua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Waters of Minocqua is a perfect place for families with children! The concept is great especially since the next closest water parks are a few hours away from The Waters. With it being only a few short hours from home (and the drive over from MI is beautiful), we'd definitely make the trip again. However, there are a few things that people need to be aware of before they visit. 1. The bar/restaurant has a very limited menu with no kids menu. The service was extremely slow and most of our party was dissatisfied with their meals. I would highly recommend eating elsewhere. 2. The rooms with the fire places have exposed exhaust vents on the balconies. The vents read "hot", but for children who are not tall enough to read this it could cause severe injuries. An adult who trips could even be harmed by this. My recommendation is that when the fire place is in use, the balcony is off limits. 3. Our stay was over Easter weekend, and I have to admit I thought the hotel was a bit understaffed. Maybe because it's a slower time of year. A sign in the game room stated that if assistance was needed to get a life guard from the pool area. I thought that was a little odd. Also, the front desk when only staffed by one person was backed up with phone calls, waiting on guests and making coffee over in the gift shop. Like I stated above, we would definitely stay here again! Next time we know to do things a little differently that's all. Here are the things we loved and appreciated about The Waters. 1. The water park of course! A large swimming pool (that opens up to the outside in the summer), a hot tub (that was open to the outside - so cool), a decent size kiddie pool and two awesome water slides. How could you not have fun?! 2. The rooms were very clean and the house keeping staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a loft room. It was spacious and each area had it's own TV. The memory foam mattresses were a treat too! 3. The gift shop sells Starbuck's coffee and a select number of specialty drinks (yum)! 4. The game room was a hit with the kids! 5. The location is out of this world. The area is full of neat shops, delicious restaurants and beautiful lakes. We can't wait to go back and check out the area even more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback!. We love it when you share areas that we have exceeded your expectations and also areas we still need to improve. You are helping us grow into being the best hotel we can be and we truly appreciate that! Again, thank you and we hope to see you back at The Waters again real soon.

Sincerely

Lisa B
General Manager
The Waters of Minocqua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great place for families with kids under 10 who like water parks. Great decor, large rooms, lots of kids' activities. Have to have a car to get into Minocqua, etc. So this would be a good base for kids to let off some steam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We thank you for your positive comments, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Waters in Minocqua is a nice stay overall, the only thing I would complain about as I see someone did before was the Bar Restaurant, limited menu and slow service, also the chicken tenders sandwich was so hard you couldn't eat it, with all the children staying there they should have a kids menu also. The continental breakfast was fine same as most places. I would stay again but I would skip the Bar Restaurant, just order a pizza from Dominos.......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, i apologize for you bad experince in our restaurant. We are always trying to improve our menu and quality. We Thank You for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.8 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Property: The Waters of Minocqua
Address: 8116 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548-9145
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing