We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The outside looked so nice but...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waters of Minocqua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The outside of this hotel looks great, but once we got our room and went to the water park??? What water park 2 slide that are very fast my 6 year old was too short and would have been scared to death. The pools seemed old and not kept up, so did the kiddie pool area things were broken. The game room was a joke everything had a out of order sign on it and there were no attendants to get prizes or refunds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

After comparing rates to other hotels in the area this hotel was comprable in price, and it had water features in it. The room was clean, but don't look under the bed! My son dropped something and yuck! The water park was small, but my child who is 6 and is about 48" enjoyed everything about the slides because he could be big and do everything there. The pools were a nice depth and he could walk about in them. Breakfast selection was good, but the breakfast area was a complete mess. My other child got bored with with the water area pretty quickly...she is a teen.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunner2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The room was spacious and clean. There were two queen beds and a sofa, which I presume was a sofa bed, in our room. There was a bar sink plus a vanity in the room itself, and another vanity/sink in the bathroom. However, the bathroom was so small that it was a challenge to get the door closed. As one reviewer put it, you almost needed to be an acrobat to get into the bathroom. it would have been far better to omit the sink in the bathroom and allow some space for comfortable movement. There was also a niche behind the bathroom which could have been added space for the bathroom--not well-planned at all.

Also, the sofa was jammed in between the wall and the dresser with no lamp anywhere near it for lighting. There was not a movable lamp in the room, all wall lamps, so there was no way you could sit on the sofa and read.

When someone in an adjacent room turned on the shower, it was so loud in our room that we couldn't hear the TV. Not sure if it was a lack of insulation or what, but our shower probably caused the same annoyance to the other room. On the plus side, the water pressure was great and it was a very good shower. The breakfast was very average, just bread, bagels, waffles, juices, and a couple fruits. No English muffins, rolls, muffins, or yogurt, etc.

All in all, there were pluses here, but minuses also. We didn't use the water park, so can't speak to the quality of that. For what we paid, i'd say we got just average value. Also be advised that they will add the fee for using a credit card to your bill as a transaction fee. When I questioned this, they immediately offered to remove it which I declined. It's not a major amount, but I feel all fees should be included when I reserve online so that the amount for which I reserve is the amount I pay. If I'm going to be charged for using my credit card, I want to know about it upfront. Haven't had this happen in other hotels, and we've stayed in many.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbeauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was a great place to stay! Employees were very friendly...has a great Northwoods atmosphere..room was clean and had plenty of linen..sleeping was quiet even with the patio door open all night and no noise from the hall...excellent price...great continental breakfast...nice pool, arcade area...perfect for families...convenient to downtown but did NOT have the downtown noise! Easy to find. Would highly recommend and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

PROS: The overall appearance of the hotel, waterpark, and rooms are quite lovely and are a good value for the price. The quality of the rooms is above average and the rooms are clean. Not so quiet, though. We could hear most of the hallway traffic as well as people walking above us, and could hear every toilet flush of the room above us. We had a double queen room with a sofa bed and found it to be quite spacious; having three sinks in the room (one in the bath, one at a vanity, and a wet bar sink) was quite handy. There was also a balcony with outdoor chairs provided - that was nice too.

The waterpark was very nice. There is an indoor/outdoor pool, an indoor/outdoor whirlpool, a large kiddie pool, and two tube water slides. The kiddie pool is quite nice; our 3 year old loved it, but her older siblings didn't mind playing there as well. Everything is clean and well maintained.

CONS: If you come to this hotel looking for helpful staff, you're better off elsewhere. The majority of staff members we encountered were grumpy and seemed less than thrilled to be there. The guy working the front desk on the night of our arrival didn't offer up much information (where's the best place to park, info on the area, etc.) unless asked. When a storm rolled in later in the evening, the waterpark was closed (this is not a surprise - it is plainly stated in the hotel's guest manual). When I called to the front desk to inquire if it would be opening later in the evening, the front desk guy said "Absolutely. 30 minutes after the last lightning strike, we open back up." So we kept watching the lightning strikes. About 30 minutes after the last lightning strike, we noticed that the lights in the pool area were off (we had a room facing the waterpark). Again we called down to the front desk and were told the waterpark would be open later. My kids were bored, so we took a walk down to the pool anyhow to ask the lifeguards when they'd be opening. When we got downstairs, we discovered that not only was the waterpark shut down for good (for the evening) so was the arcade. The lifeguard that was shutting everything down said there were more storms rolling in and they decided it was best to shut down completely for the night. (I'm not arguing with this point - safety first, after all.) It would have been nice if the pool staff would have communicated with the front desk staff adequately; it also would have been nice to have someone at the front desk who could adequately answer questions regarding pool operations.

The arcade: We were very disappointed that the arcade shut down when the pool did. During a storm, what else are families supposed to do? I also didn't care for the fact that a redemption arcade didn't have somebody staffing it. When my kids wanted to redeem their tickets, we had to walk across the hall, into the waterpark, and have someone from the snack bar come over to redeem tickets. It seemed like a lot of the games were also in poor working order - some gobbled up tokens and refused to play while others were out of tickets. Having an attendant in the arcade full-time (it was the high summer travel season after all) seems like it would be a valuable asset if one is going to operate a redemption arcade.

The complimentary breakfast: It has plenty of seating and is served in the spacious and lovely lobby area, but that's about all it's got going for it. There aren't a lot of options: waffles, toast, or cereal. There are only two waffle makers and only one toaster, so if you pick either of those options, you're stuck waiting if there's a crowd. Not fun when you've got hungry kids who just want to eat and get to the waterpark. I don't expect a grand buffet from a continental breakfast, but a few more options wouldn't hurt.

Overall: Good hotel for the price. Will we be back? Probably not, unless the price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeMaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were so happy with our stay at The Waters. Our hotel room was quite roomy for the 5 of us and very clean. The outdoor pool with basketball hoop and outdoor hot tub was just right, not to mention lawn chairs to lay-out in was great! The location to downtown Minocqua was perfect, just down the street. We also enjoyed the free breakfast, make your own waffles...yum! We will definitely spend another fun summer weekend at The Waters.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandLHospitality, Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear FortWilderness,

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Waters of Minocqua. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We know you have options when vacationing and we truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Sincerely, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our family had a wedding reception here and most of the family stayed here. The staff was amazingly accommodating! The rooms were comfortable and even the wedding party enjoyed the water park. I would say the breakfast needs a little beefing up, but it was adequate. Also we wished there were more dining options on-site. However, overall, our stay here was super.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbieThursby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Address: 8116 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548-9145
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing