We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Chy's Red Steer Supper Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chy's Red Steer Supper Club
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice atmosphere. Excellent variety of choices. Prompt, helpfull, pleasant service. Food is very tastey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, WI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate here recently on a week night and were a bit disappointed with our experience. First when we walked into the restaurant, there was a musty damp odor that almost made us walk back out but we decided to stay after being greeted by a very friendly hostess who seated us immediately. The meal started out with a complimentary appetizer of two meatballs and a small container of cheese spread with crackers. Both the meatballs and spread were very good. The arrival of our salads started the disappointment. The salads looked limp and tired. The homemade dressings were outstanding but couldn't overcome the limp lettuce.
We had mixed results with the entrees. My shrimp were huge and perfectly cooked but my husbands filet, while prepared well, was surprisingly tasteless. On the plus side the service was excellent. Overall we might try this restaurant again to see if this was just an off night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, WI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great drinks, great food!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were here celebrating our friend's hole-in- one recently. Kathy at the bar made us great Old Fashioneds to start us off. My husband and I had the steak for two, which is a great value since it comes with grilled mushrooms, onion and a twice baked potato. In fact we have ordered that same entree the last three times we came and have not been disappointed. Fresh dinner salad and appetizers on the house. Attentive service. Close to town. Give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momofbride3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait even WITH reservation!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We tried to get a table Friday nite-90 min wait. Tried again Saturday night and told 2 hour wait despite no one else in line and 2 open tables. Were told they had "big parties" with reservations. Since it was so busy we figured it was good, so we made reservations for Sunday nite at 6:30. When we arrive were told the diners at our table were almost ready to leave. We got drinks at the bar and when I asked at 7:15 about our table was told we would be seated. 10 min later got our table. My filet was good, husband and daughter ordered the "special"rib eye, which were charred ( ordered medium) and not the steaks they ordered. Very disappointing. Best thing was Cheryl the bartender, fast and fun to watch. She makes a great old fashioned, which everyone else fails at.won't go back, don't know why its so busy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deseo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friday Fish Fry”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were surprised to find that their Friday Fish Fry is very tasty. Service is friendly and good. Brandy Alexanders are huge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dotnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chy's Red Steer Supper Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing