We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money and what out for thieves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beacons of Minocqua
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Where do I begin???? My husband and I will never stay at The Beacons again and you would be wise not to waste your money at this ‘resort’.

We rented a condo for a week. We originally wanted one of the townhouses; they were unavailable, but were promised this condo was a replicate of the townhouse.

The bathroom off the master bedroom had black mold growing all around the shower. Also, the shower leaked and it took 3 days for them to fix it, so we had to use the secondary shower in the smaller bathroom.

The carpet was not clean, there were multiple stains on the window shades, and there was a constant drip from the faucet in the kitchen.

We stayed on the 2nd floor. The layout of the stairs is abysmal. Trying to carry luggage up and down the stairs was tiring, loud, and a real pain in the neck.

The television in the living room was not what was promised. We were supposed to get a 32 inch flat screen tv. This one was much smaller and the sound and picture were horrible. We could not get in all the tv channels listed on the flyer. God forbid you were a “Breaking Bad” fan, because AMC was constantly just white noise and blur.

Their Wi-Fi system probably was designed by the NSA. We had problems with our laptop and it took many hours to undo their linkup. Also, my husband’s Droid just stop working and it died up there.

The sign for The Beacons is almost unrecognizable after dark.

We paid for one week up there, and ended up leaving two days early because we were so disgusted. Also, we had a very expensive life vest stolen from our boat. When you stay at what they ‘advertise’ as a premier resort, you don’t expect that there are thieves lurking around.

When checking our two days early and telling them how upset we were with our stay there, they offered NOTHING -- no refund, no statement as to “what can we do for you”, NOTHING.

One last thing – we were hoping this was going to be a wonderful trip and had planned on buying a time share there.

Beware....

Room Tip: Try another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

In general, I would recommend The Beacons of Minocqua. The resort has many amenities, which include a nice size indoor pool, game room, and deck for viewing the lake.

We rented a condo, it was clean and neat, the bedroom and bath of good size and the open kitchen/family room adequate and comfortable.

The only drawback was that it was next to the only hallway that connected to the lake for our building. Those staying on the second floor needed to walk around the building or through the hallway to get to the lake. It was also next to the buildings washer and dryer. While neither was disturbing during our stay during the last week of August, it may be during a busier time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom condo unit on the 2nd floor where 5 of us stayed comfortably. There was a great view of the lake. The only downside was that they advertised that Wi-Fi was available throughout the property but it was virtually non-existent. It only worked about 10% of the time and was very slow. We had to find a coffee shop in Woodruff to go to every day in order to use the internet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This resort was clean and comfortable. The pool area was very nice as was the gaming area. I enjoyed time in the loft reading a book, my husband relaxed in the sitting area off the game room and my daughter sunbathed on the sun deck. We enjoyed a picnic in the gazebo and sat by the lake. We also took a pontoon boat ride offered by the resort, it was greatly enjoyable until the boat started to submarine into the water for some unknown reason soaking my bag with my book and accessories. That was scary and I hope they figured out why that happened.
Not a lot of excitement in this area of the country, but coming from the busy Northeast, it was nice to slow down and enjoy nature. We enjoyed walking into town and nosing around the quiant little shops. The folks in town were very friendly and helped us find interesting things to do. We did find a rental shop where we rented a wave runner for the day and explored all the lakes we could get to. That was a great time!
Overall, this was a very nice place to vacation. If you have young children, please make sure they like to do outdoor activities because there is not much else around to entertain them. For us folks with older children who like the outdoors, it was spectacularly relaxing!

Room Tip: We exchanged our timeshare, so you will have to put in a request to get in here. After checking repe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 bedroom lodge room with 4 people. Lots of storage space which made it deem bigger, and it was clean. We wanted the 2 bedroom but it was booked. When we checked in found out 2 bedroom was only booked 2 out of the 4 nights we were there, were not even given option to rent it for 2 nights. Way too many " extra charge" threats.....boat back late, out of room late, lost keys, etc. VERY unfriendly late afternoon desk staff man. The air conditioning was not working so our room was very hot. Luckily the weather was cooler but the room temp was very stifling. We reported it and supposedly it was fixed but never got better.we usually stay in St Germain but thought we would try Minoqua. Won't go back, good thing room was cheap

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deseo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Little or no WiFi. We could not stay here and work! Limited and poor TV reception. Outdated resort. In this day and age a resort must have digital TV and WiFi
Porches need sanding as they are rough and full of splinters.
The setting is beautiful and close to town with the bearskin trail.
Dead cut up trees are down at the piers and need to be removed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family (4 adults/2 children) stayed here for a week on an interval exchange.
The unit was clean(when we checked in), well laid out, well furnished, and roomy with a nice balcony overlooking the lake. The grounds were lovely and well maintained. The boys enjoyed the fishing dock and boats. The indoor pool was very good.
However, the internet didn't work the entire week we were there. The dishwasher was temperamental. You got no maid service, so you have to clean on vacation, especially if travelling with kids. Towels could be exchanged twice during the week.
They seemed understaffed. The ice cream social was billed as lasting from 4 to 6, but when we get there at 5:45 after feeding the kids early, they had closed down and left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
70 reviews
25.0 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beacons of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons of Minocqua

Address: 8250 Northern Rd, Minocqua, WI 54548-9127
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Minocqua
Price Range: $123 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacons of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Beacons of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing