We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Island Cafe

The Island Cafe
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Homey, comfortable place for breakfast (and lunch I believe). Definitely worth the stop - I'd say best on "the island"

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebulletguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best for breakfast and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Decided to try this spot for breakfast after a disappointing experience at our hotel the day before.

Very nice selection of healthy choices as well as the typical eggs with sides. Our omelets were done perfectly and very flavorful. Nice crisp hash browns and good coffee. What more can you ask for? Service was prompt, friendly and our server kept checking with us to make sure we had fresh coffee. A great way to get fueled up before hiking on the nearby Bearskin trail

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast always very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfast on a Monday morning.
Three of us had eggs and bacon or sausage , one had veggie omelette. All were very pleased with their choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodruff, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is great but not if you have allergies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I love the food, service, and atmosphere BUT and this is a big BUT they do not have on their menu that they use peanut oil to cook with. My husband is allergic to all nuts and got obscenely sick after having a regular breakfast there (eggs, bacon, toast). I was horrified to learn that they do not warn you that they use peanut oil and don't put it on the menu. For that reason, we no longer go there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tyler p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast on our trip back south. Large portions good food and friendly service. Sit on the patio if weather permits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishdyessmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing