We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Brewery Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brewery Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I made a reservation here after looking for hotels in the area of Taliesin and couldn't find anything other than old school motels that looked rather run down. I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed 2 nights at the Inn. We were in room #1 which was lovely. You can hear the muffled sounds coming from the restaurant below but I expected this after being warned on the website. The restaurant closes early (8:30) for that reason. I wish I was also warned that the kitchen is on the same floor but it wasn't really an issue, only unexpected. I found the owners to be very helpful giving us directions to nearby attractions and making us feel at home. The guest lounge is a beautiful area where you can sit and relax and also where breakfast is served. I found the breakfast to be sufficient--continental (out of this world pastry!) plus some extras. We tried some of their own beers to unwind after check in and later ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious (especially their home made pie), their servers friendly, and a very cool ambience.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are over the restaurant (2nd floor). The other rooms are on the 3rd floor. Room #1 br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 99 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Girlfriend and I was looking for a get away from Iowa. Found this BrewPub Inn thought how great will this be we love beer the rooms looked so nice IN PICTURES and had a jacuzzi tub. We get to Mineral Point and thought it was a cut small town 2400 population. Get greeted by owner himself. He took us up to our room, #7. The room was small and cute, but was disappointed in the time there. 1st off the bed is not a half canopy, the jacuzzie tub did work right made noises that the motor was winding up to take off. The room next to us set empty and i kinda thought maybe they would of offered a upgrade at a bit cheaper rate to take the room but they didnt The resturante down stars didnt help the night out as well, they ran out of the special of the day steak and fresh asparagus, the themed dessert of the month was rhubarb, so we wanted desert and we want the rhubarb apple crisp they were out of that, and to top off the night we requested shandy and they ran out of that. Look over at the owner and asked really you are out and he says what i didnt drink it. It was supposed to be like a dream get away that really turned out to be a dream outage of everything that really is disappointing that a place that makes there own stuff cant keep enough in or take care of the guest better than what they did. Loved visiting the other establisments in town such as Midway Bar where the owners are very sweet and i forgot my camera there they grabbed it from my chair put it behind the bar and kept it safe and sound. I was never so grateful. So all in all they experience was up and down for the Brew Creek Inn for the money not sure its worth the hype i can stay at the motel on the outskirts of town drive back in and visit. So like I said very sweet but so disappointed with the experience.

Room Tip: Bed is so comfy just may not get the right bed in your room and the tub may or may work right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I desperately needed a getaway from home, work and life, and this place fit the bill perfectly. Beautifully furnished room (I stayed in #1) with jetted tub, gas fireplace and comfortable furniture. The proprietors were lovely, The restaurant below had terrific house-brewed beer and great food - it was nice to have the option to eat downstairs or take my food up to my room. There's not much going on the town (to be fair, it was March, which is probably the off-season), but that was fine by me - focusing on local beer and cheese (Hook's Cheese is made locally and can't be beat) in a quiet place was my goal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Upon arrival we were told they did not have any hot water and he did not want us to commit until it was determined we would have hot water. A free beer was offered while we waited and we explored the town after a brief view of the room. It turned out that the problem was fixed and we had a pleasant stay with a nice dinner, beer, and breakfast. A little more than what we usually like to pay but it was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brapp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We are going to give you a review twofer!
First as an Inn: We worked an entire 2 week vacation itinerary around being in Mineral Point on a Friday and Saturday night. Although we had a nice time on our visit, we were a little disappointed with room amenities. This seems so trivial now, but we ran out of soap, and couldn't find anyone to help us and actually had to use the pump hand soap in the shower. Our vast experience has been that when you are staying 2 nights everything is replenished. When you are spending $169 a night, you really shouldn't run out of anything. The room was pretty cool - a beautiful thick stone wall and the jacuzzi tub were the highlights, the very squeaky floor and bed combined with the noise level from the restaurant below us were the lowlights. We were fine with the continental breakfast. Most Inn's in this price range have either a hot cooked breakfast or an early evening snack/drink. At this price, perhaps a complimentary beer glass filled with beer would be a nicer touch. Because of the lack of value, we give the Inn 2 stars.
Second, as a restaurant:
This is the best restaurant in the area, but they could do things better. Both of our dinners were very good and the staff was so friendly that we thought they were going to adopt us. The beer is okay (if you want really good beer go 20 miles down the road to Mt. Horeb and the Grumpy Troll). The wit (wheat) beer was more like a lager, in fact so much like a lager that we thought they gave us the wrong beer. The dark mild was the best beer we had. For some reason, they don't offer a flight where you can taste everything. The building cries out for a beer garden, there is space for one but the owners seem to be too busy being Innkeeprs, brewers and restauranteurs to enhance the grounds. We give the restaurant 4 stars, for an average of 3 stars for this review.

Room Tip: room 2 is right over the restaurant/bar area. cottages might be the better idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did not stay overnight but ate twice here in two days. The beer was excellent. My husband especially liked the aged beer. The veggie burger was the hands-down best veggie burger I have had, ever. They had a nice twist on the traditional pasty. The service was wonderful. A must if you are passing through Mineral Point, or staying in town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although we stayed in Room #7, which is the smallest room, it was very cozy and inviting. Ate downstairs for dinner and the hosts were very nice and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was also very nice. Would defintely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CG2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
107 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 4 in Dodgeville
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
146 reviews
22.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
321 reviews
17.7 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Creek Inn

Address: 23 Commerce St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1368
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range: $95 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing