We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PRIVITIVE, HISTORICAL ADVENTURE.......WITH PEACEFULNESS!”
Review of Cothren House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cothren House
Ranked #5 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the "HISTORICAL CABIN"..........Great privitive decor.......very comfortable and peaceful. Good way to spend "QUALITY TIME" with your loved one! I

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen59946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Cothren House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

Back from a delightful stay at the Cothren 1835 log cabin. What a treat for the senses and the soul. It was the best of both worlds: historic lodging with modern conveniences. Loved the walk-in hearth, sleeping loft, primitive decor with extra special touches. Thanks, Lisa, for making our stay a memorable one.

Mineral Point with its stone cottages, Cornish history, steep streets, and quaint niches is a unique journey into the past. Great trip all around. Highly recommended. I look foward to returning...SOON. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debrajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

When I saw this cabin in Mineral Point, I knew it would be a perfect weekend getaway for us! Lisa met us at the door and showed us are enormous key, she said "it's the real deal". We said we had a long drive and Lisa offered us some beers which made us feel right at home. She also recommended various places for us to go, and i was grateful that we could call her when were getting lost around town. We loved the smell and feel of the cabin, and the bed was as comfortable as our own! We are already planning a return visit!
I was unable to unlock the door which was hysterical, and the stairs were a bit precarious, but fun and it fit the space so well, but i don't recommend you go down them if you have had a bit to drink!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navajoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We came for one night and decided to stay a second night as it was so great. The owner was very helpful, but everything you need is ready for you. Many B&Bs can be a little cheesy, but this strays from gimicks and instead delivers on comfort, cleanliness and privacy.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had a great time staying in the cottage. I don't know what more we could have asked for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Cothren House B&B is on a peaceful side street of the quaint little town of Mineral Point. The bed was comfy and we woke up well rested and ready to explore this great area. The young family who own the Cothren House were happy to sit with us in their garden and fill us in on the history of the Cothren House, the best places to visit, hike, eat, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrinkChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

For the second year in a row my 2 highschool girlfriends and I (we're 57 now!) have stayed at the 1830's cabin at Cothren house. Lisa, the owner, was very friendly and helpful, and left a card on the coffee table with her phone#, inviting us to call her if we needed anything. We must've called 6 times throughout the weekend with various questions about directions, Mineral Point activities, restaurant recommendations, etc. We really took her up on that offer and she was most helpful and congenial with each call. This cabin, tho' tiny, was perfect for 3 friends who like to gab away, as we could hear one another from wherever we were. The atmosphere is very rustic, and we loved the fireplace. The cabin is just a short walk to town, yet removed enough from the main streets to be very pastoral and quiet. The leather furniture was comfy, and we were provided with throw blankets and pillows, and red plaid bathrobes, all of which we use for our slumber party! We were hear during Cornish Festival weekend, and the cabin was a perfect spot to base ourselves between all the cool activities we took part in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozyCabinChums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
106 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
17.4 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
312 reviews
9.6 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#1 of 4 in Dodgeville
133 reviews
17.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cothren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cothren House

Address: 320 Tower St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1444
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range: $139 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging at the Cothren House consists of a beautiful two-bedroom stone cottage from the 1840's and a log cabin from the 1830s with a queen-size bed in the loft. Both places have been updated with modern conveniences including bathrooms with showers, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and plenty of towels and robes. We're a few blocks from downtown Mineral Point. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing