We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escapade Romantique-Shake Rag Alley-Mousehole/Shake Rag Side”

Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Ranked #4 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Escapade Romantique-Shake Rag Alley-Mousehole/Shake Rag Side”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed in the Shake Rag Side of Mousehole overnight on a little "escapade romantique" for our anniversary. Last minute booking, arrived late afternoon. Arrangements were made to pick up keys and the person on call arrived quickly to escort us to the apartment.

This is a duplex building on Shake Rag Alley next to the Shake Rag Alley Artists enclave. Cut stone, circa 1830, two bedrooms, full kitchen. Lovely little sitting room with a fireplace, bedroom was in the front overlooking the historic street. All rooms were decorated with artists offerings which were for sale.

No TV, radio, etc. But with a nice bottle of wine, a few beers, and locally made cheese(you can walk across the street to a kwik trip/gas station and buy all the local cheeses out of their coolers!) we had a very pleasant evening.

The acclaimed theatre at Shake Rag is just down the sidewalk. All the surrounding houses are beautifully restored and landscaped. Really charming. You are just a two block walk to the middle of the historic downtown. You can walk to dinner if you wish. The Pendarvis Historic Sight is a few blocks down the street away from the downtown.

Very quiet and private. Had no trouble with checkout in the morning, just dropped off the key at the office.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We spent two nights in Room 3 of the Coach House and it was a great place to stay. Easy walk to restaurants in town and the main shopping street. We found that it was a great place to stay to visit the House on the Rock, plus lots of other attractions are an easy drive. The room was small, but had all the amenities (except a TV, which we didn't mind). Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank SSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in the Mousehole, Townside suite. Shake Rag Alley - Coach House has 3 guestrooms in the Coach House itself and two suites in the "Mousehole," just down the street, pronounced "mouzol," apparently refering to a town in Cornwall. The suite was really a two-story, two bedroom apartment, with a comfy living room, equipped kitchen with full-size appliances and coffee, a large bedroom with a queen bed and a small bedroom with two twins and a large bathroom. It's quite old - built in 1839, with steep, narrow stairs, which we found atmospheric but some travelers might struggle with. The place is spacious, comfortable and very attractive. The only drawback is it's very close to highway 23, so in the mornings there was a fair amount of traffic noise, but at night it was very quiet. We did have to close the window in order to sleep late. The upside is it's just a few steps from Commerce and High streets and all the good galleries and restaurants. Coffee is provided, but there's no breakfast provided so I recommend showing up with some cereal, milk, muffins, etc., or you can walk up the street to the Red Rooster diner. I like this since it offers the most flexibility re breakfast. There is no TV, no Internet, and only intermittent cellphone reception at the Mousehole, but guests have access to the common area at the Coach House, with an internet-connected computer and free wifi, but still no TV. The people were very nice and helpful. We recommend this place, with the caveat about the highway noise at the Mousehole (shouldn't be a problem at the Coach House).

  • Liked — Size, comfort, proximity to "downtown"
  • Disliked — noise from highway
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DPtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We have visited Mineral Point and Shake Rag Alley several times over the years, but just found out recently that overnight stays were available in the Coach House. We were very excited to stay in one of the historic buildings on the property. We were not disappointed. Our room was spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated with antiques and art by local artists. We had our own private deck with a wooden screen door leading out. We slept with the door open so we could hear the crickets in the evening and the birds in the morning. This is not a bed and breakfast, so don't expect to be fed in the morning, but there are snacks and beverages available in the comfortable common room. There is no innkeeper through the night, but this is explained to you when you arrive, and a phone and phone number is available if there is anything you need. The cost to stay here is very reasonable. If you stay in the summer, be sure to see a play at the Shake Rag outdoor stage located on the grounds. I would love to return to Mineral Point and stay in the Coach House again just to relax and be surrounded by nature, history, and beautiful art.

  • Liked — Comfort of the room, location, quietness, natural setting
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Mineral Point is spilling with historic sights--I can't think of a better way to immerse yourself in the past than to actually stay at a historic property...The Coach House at Shake Rag Alley is an extremely comfortable, welcoming, quiet, and charming guest house that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting this fascinating little city! The staff was very helpful and friendly; our room was impeccably clean and comfortable (the air-conditioning was up and running for an unseasonably hot October weekend!); the decor was simple, elegant, and inviting, and the artwork throughout the building and in our guestroom showcased the talents of local artists. Each of the 3 rooms has a private bath--ours was really clean as well. The location of the property couldn't be better--the grounds of Shake Rag Alley alone have beautiful winding pathways of rustic brick, elaborate gardens, historic architecture, and even a beautiful outdoor theatre. There are plenty of areas to just sit and take in the gorgeous scenery. Beyond the property, within walking distance, one can easily get to Pendarvis or any of the numerous sights in Downtown Mineral Point.

  • Liked — Very clean room, comfortable bed, historic significance of the property, great location, friendly staff, quiet, free wi-fi, great artwork in rooms, gorgeous grounds, private porch/patio for Room 2, private bath w/ shower
  • Disliked — Wish we could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank klm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Stayed at the Shake Rag Alley coach house last weekend.

Authentic, quaint and friendly, with a *great* bed. Large, cozy, brick-floor livingroom on the first floor w/fireplace. On 2 acres of historic grounds. There is alot of great lodging in that funky town, and this is one of the best. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coach House - Shake Rag Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House - Shake Rag Alley

Property: Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Address: 18 Shakerag St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1134
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing