We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Ranked #4 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Suburban Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in the Mousehole, Townside suite. Shake Rag Alley - Coach House has 3 guestrooms in the Coach House itself and two suites in the "Mousehole," just down the street, pronounced "mouzol," apparently refering to a town in Cornwall. The suite was really a two-story, two bedroom apartment, with a comfy living room, equipped kitchen with full-size appliances and coffee, a large bedroom with a queen bed and a small bedroom with two twins and a large bathroom. It's quite old - built in 1839, with steep, narrow stairs, which we found atmospheric but some travelers might struggle with. The place is spacious, comfortable and very attractive. The only drawback is it's very close to highway 23, so in the mornings there was a fair amount of traffic noise, but at night it was very quiet. We did have to close the window in order to sleep late. The upside is it's just a few steps from Commerce and High streets and all the good galleries and restaurants. Coffee is provided, but there's no breakfast provided so I recommend showing up with some cereal, milk, muffins, etc., or you can walk up the street to the Red Rooster diner. I like this since it offers the most flexibility re breakfast. There is no TV, no Internet, and only intermittent cellphone reception at the Mousehole, but guests have access to the common area at the Coach House, with an internet-connected computer and free wifi, but still no TV. The people were very nice and helpful. We recommend this place, with the caveat about the highway noise at the Mousehole (shouldn't be a problem at the Coach House).

  • Liked — Size, comfort, proximity to "downtown"
  • Disliked — noise from highway
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DPtraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We have visited Mineral Point and Shake Rag Alley several times over the years, but just found out recently that overnight stays were available in the Coach House. We were very excited to stay in one of the historic buildings on the property. We were not disappointed. Our room was spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated with antiques and art by local artists. We had our own private deck with a wooden screen door leading out. We slept with the door open so we could hear the crickets in the evening and the birds in the morning. This is not a bed and breakfast, so don't expect to be fed in the morning, but there are snacks and beverages available in the comfortable common room. There is no innkeeper through the night, but this is explained to you when you arrive, and a phone and phone number is available if there is anything you need. The cost to stay here is very reasonable. If you stay in the summer, be sure to see a play at the Shake Rag outdoor stage located on the grounds. I would love to return to Mineral Point and stay in the Coach House again just to relax and be surrounded by nature, history, and beautiful art.

  • Liked — Comfort of the room, location, quietness, natural setting
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Mineral Point is spilling with historic sights--I can't think of a better way to immerse yourself in the past than to actually stay at a historic property...The Coach House at Shake Rag Alley is an extremely comfortable, welcoming, quiet, and charming guest house that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting this fascinating little city! The staff was very helpful and friendly; our room was impeccably clean and comfortable (the air-conditioning was up and running for an unseasonably hot October weekend!); the decor was simple, elegant, and inviting, and the artwork throughout the building and in our guestroom showcased the talents of local artists. Each of the 3 rooms has a private bath--ours was really clean as well. The location of the property couldn't be better--the grounds of Shake Rag Alley alone have beautiful winding pathways of rustic brick, elaborate gardens, historic architecture, and even a beautiful outdoor theatre. There are plenty of areas to just sit and take in the gorgeous scenery. Beyond the property, within walking distance, one can easily get to Pendarvis or any of the numerous sights in Downtown Mineral Point.

  • Liked — Very clean room, comfortable bed, historic significance of the property, great location, friendly staff, quiet, free wi-fi, great artwork in rooms, gorgeous grounds, private porch/patio for Room 2, private bath w/ shower
  • Disliked — Wish we could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank klm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Stayed at the Shake Rag Alley coach house last weekend.

Authentic, quaint and friendly, with a *great* bed. Large, cozy, brick-floor livingroom on the first floor w/fireplace. On 2 acres of historic grounds. There is alot of great lodging in that funky town, and this is one of the best. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
99 reviews
23.4 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
123 reviews
22.2 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
17.0 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
143 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Dodgeville
Super 8 Dodgeville
#2 of 4 in Dodgeville
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House - Shake Rag Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House - Shake Rag Alley

Property: Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Address: 18 Shakerag St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1134
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing