We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”

Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Ranked #4 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Lisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great choice”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived in town without a reservation but they had space and were very accommodating. Room #2 was charming and clean. Best of all they told us about an Irish concert that night right on Shake Rag Alley. It was so much fun! Very hospitable place with old world charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my-backyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
307 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

An interesting old place. Room #3 is a front room with a decent size bath. The room is basically a queen size bed and a chair. We had little interaction with staff. Not much to do at night in mid November in town. The board games in the common room were either for 3 or more people or missing items like the board, should have brought a game. Not a bed and breakfast but plenty of interesting places to eat. The grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: I would get room #2 if you can. There are only three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 2 of the Coach House (the room with access to the deck at the back of the building). Our room was charming and comfortable without being frilly. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the deck after walking around town and having dinner. It was a peaceful respite after a couple days of driving and family activities. Service was friendly and efficient from reservation through our stay; when we emailed to ask about a laundromat in Mineral Point they replied promptly with the address and hours. In the morning we grabbed a cup of coffee and granola bars from the basket downstairs before heading off to Taliesen and then Milwaukee. Our stay was perfect.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for a weekend in April 2012, in the middle room at the top of the stairs. The room with a small table and chairs outside it's separate entrance to the rear of the Coach House. Carla, the hostess, was so accomodating and very helpful whenever we had a request or question. The grounds are serene and lovely to stroll. We would like to go back for classes at some point. The location is perfect for walking to the High Street and Commerce Street stores and restaurants. It is an older building, so you will hear when other guests come and go from their rooms, but as there are only 3 rms total, this is not a big deal, for us. The room and common areas were very clean and well-appointed. One can also walk to the Pendarvis site very easily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here our second night in town because there was no availability at the first place we had stayed.

We stayed in room 3 which is a nice clean little room. The bathroom was a good size. We were a little spoiled after having stayed at Brewery Creek the night before and having a few more amenities - fireplace, tv, whirlpool, decor, breakfast. But all in all I really don't have any complaints. The lady who checked us in was extremely nice. Check in and out process is very simple. The location was good and the Shake Rag Alley is pretty and offers some interesting history. The little common room was nice and we found some board games to play once we returned for the evening. The price was right for a nice clean sleeping house with a bit of history. It was charming without being over the top Victorian or cutesy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Shake Rag Tuckpoint Garden Suite. The room (which was more of an apartment really) was large, well appointed, and artistically decorated. It was truly one of the most unique placed we've ever stayed. The Tuckpoint was a short walk from all of the major shops and restaurants in Mineral Point, and for its size, a great value for the money. A word of caution: the room is down a fairly steep hill from the main avenue, so those with trouble walking may want to take that into consideration. Otherwise, it is a highly recommended room in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belgrano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Coach House at Shake Rag Alley while we attended a conference in Mineral Point. Room #3 is the most private, is tastefully decorated with local art and doesn't go over the top like some of the vintage B&Bs. My husband, who is usually uncomfortable in small hotels, thought this was an excellent haven. Roomy bathroom. The common room has a comfy sitting area and a cozy fireplace in the winter. Absolutely everything in town is within walking distance. We plan to stay at the Coach House whenever we come back.

Room Tip: As mentioned, room #3 is the most private. It was quiet and classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arriveanddepart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
98 reviews
23.4 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#3 of 6 in Spring Green
118 reviews
22.2 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Dodgeville
Super 8 Dodgeville
#1 of 5 in Dodgeville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House - Shake Rag Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House - Shake Rag Alley

Property: Coach House - Shake Rag Alley
Address: 18 Shakerag St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1134
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing