We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and attentive service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mineral Point Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mineral Point
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great rooms and attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Mineral Point Hotel for 3 nights in early July and had a wonderful experience. It was our 2nd stay there and we found the rooms very comfortable--we've stayed in both 1840 and 1820. The beds were great, and the rooms very spacious so you can really spread out. It was a perfect place to stay to explore SW Wisconsin. We brought our bikes and biked from Mineral Point on several of the country roads in the area--some of the best biking we've done in the Midwest. Richard gave us the choice of breakfast in our room or in the dining room or outside on the patio. Lunch at Cafe Ellie out on the patio was yummy. It was fun to be in such a historic town and we enjoyed the galleries and shops. Only a half hour from Spring Green so we were able to go to plays at APT and visit Taliesin. Room 1940 on the back of the hotel with its own balcony was the quietest room. Very conveniently located--right on one of the main streets in downtown Mineral Point.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We spent one night at the Mineral Point Hotel. We stayed in room 1820, which is large, bright, beautifully furnished and immaculate. The king size bed is very comfortable with lots of huge pillows. The room was furnished with a flat screen TV, a table and chairs, a leather chair you could really sink into, and a regrigerator. We also had a nice sitting room attached to our room. The bathroom had a soaking tub and was stocked with very nice soaps, lotions, shampoos and conditioners. The breakfast in the morning was brought to our room and was continental. The portions are generous and very good quality. You have a french press in the room for making coffee and a selection of teas. There is also a cafe downstairs which serves lunches and I believe dinners. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of restaurants, antique shops, and galleries. I highly recommend staying at the Mineral Point Hotel for a nice and relaxing evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

Too bad the previous reviewer had such a bad experience. My wife and I have found that the Mineral Point Hotel is a consistently great place to stay. Molly, the manager, goes out of her way to make guests welcome, and she has always provided us with the highest level of service and attention. The hotel itself is bright, clean, quiet and just as comfortable as the finest hotel. It is located right in the center of the few lovely little galleries and shops of Mineral point, and it is right down the street from Restaurant Four, home of some the best pizza this side of Napoli. Our provided breakfast this morning consisted of fresh scones, freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and fresh fruits and berries....all delivered right to our room door. It is also noteworthy to mention that all rooms are stocked with specialty hand creams, body lotions and herbal soaps. And to greet you at the door is one of the nicest dogs to ever grace the planet, Allie. Bravo Mineral Point Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mascara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Some months ago I booked a room via the website and was told via email only 2 days before the trip that no room was available as the owner-Molly- had made a mistake. I had to cancel my plans but i had no problem as mistakes happen. After making a second reservation some months later-several weeks in advance- i have now been told via email 4 days before my trip that no room is available again!! I ha e since learned that this is not an isolated incident. You have been warned!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturevulture76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. It's in a great location, very clean & unique. We stayed in room 1840 and loved the room. The king sized bed is super comfortable and it's set up very well. I really like that the hotel is historic, but you don't feel like you're staying in an artifact. We will certainly stay here again. I appreciate that Molly is available, but isn't intrusive in any way. And, Allie the dog is a lovely girl.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I stopped for two nights of R&R after dropping off the daughter at college. A great place to relax! We stayed in room 1820 at the front of the hotel, no problem, as things were very quiet ( I believe the windows are insulated). Beautiful room, well appointed and very clean. Large bathroom and tub. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, juice, coffee (with fresh off the farm cream), and roll of the day. Molly has tips for the area and couldn't be more helpful. Don't miss their store across the street - it has a great selection of moderately priced wines and several interesting food items, as well as many gifts, clothing, etc. The hotel offers a store discount to guests. As for Mineral Point, quite quaint, and if you're not spending excessive time with the historical tours it can be well covered in a day. Be careful to check what's open in the off season, some restaurants are closed on certain evenings and some galleries are closed during the day. For my money, I would dine at Cafe Four every night, the Brewery is fine for lunch. A great value, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway in the off- (,off-, OFF-) season of December. In spite of this our stay felt very 'special' in that we were pampered and treated w/ great courtesy and attentiveness. Molly gave us street-parking tips, restaurant and gallery-viewing suggestions, asked if we had any request for breakfast, provided custom chocolates and a bottle of local wine, and even informed us of an additional discount we were not aware of at the time of making the reservation. Nice touches abounded! Room was elegantly decorated and location could not be beat. Wonderful hotel and we plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
17.7 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
23.5 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.3 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites - Dodgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Point Hotel

Property: Mineral Point Hotel
Address: 121 Commerce St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1304
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mineral Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mineral Point Hotel, Mineral Point's premier boutique hotel located just above the banks of the historic Brewery Creek in the heart of the downtown shopping district. Elegant, yet unassuming, the Mineral Point Hotel is comprised of 5 sleeping rooms, each unique in character and design. All rooms have private bathrooms and several feature claw foot tubs. Each room is equipped with a mini fridge and flat screen television. The lobby is spacious enough for gathering with other guests and or you can sit in our charming garden patio. If you're looking for a quiet and quaint getaway in lovely little historic town, this is the place for you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing