We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Adventurous Foodies Only”

Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub
Reserve with OpenTable
Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Historic Third Ward
Cross street: Water
Description: Hinterland...A new hub for contemporary American cuisine in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Executive Chef Dan Van Rite and Sous Chef Dan Turek, explore a multicultural approach to cooking and eating. Their journey to create bold flavors and uncommon pairings is a daily mission at Hinterland.In order to accomplish this sojourn, we've partnered with fisherman in Honolulu, Seattle and Portland, Maine. These partnerships allow our chefs to procure fresh fish as often as two times a day. Other relationships with small, local growers and ranchers allow us to provide our customers with extraordinary game as well as hand foraged mushrooms and heirloom produce. The result is a menu that evolves with every season and changes everyday.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For Adventurous Foodies Only”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have frequented this restaurant many times & have never been disappointed. First, this restaurant has the most outrageous, unique menu in Milwaukee. They have several choices of small plates, appetizers, salads & entrees. You can have a great, well balanced meal with just choosing a couple small plates & a salad. If you're in the mood for nachos, chicken wings, potato skins, etc, go to a chain restaurant. If your a serious foodie, you need to check out this place. We started out with a charcuterie plate (yum!). The salad was a good size & had plenty of toppings (not just a plate of lettuce with dressing). I had the frisee' which had the PERFECT amount of dressing. I also had the duck wings. You get 6 (our waiter had no clue how many were on a plate). The sauce was too sweet for my liking but the meat was very juicy & came right off the bone. My husband had the duck testes, spring ramps & arancini. He loved them all. We were so full we didn't order dessert. None of the options sounded appealing to us.

Only area improvement was the service. The place was very quiet & we hardly saw our waiter. There was a long wait from when we got our drinks to when we ordered food. Maybe he was just giving us time to enjoy cocktails. Good thing we weren't in a hurry. The waiter wasn't very helpful with describing various dishes. It may help if they tried the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    21
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perhaps too cool for school”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visiting Milwaukee from London we were lucky enough to be taken for dinner as part of a group of 8 to this very hip micro brewery restaurant. Great space - a tastefully converted warehouse in the regenerating old part of the city. Our server was very hip to the point of 'I'll leave you to it'... but the vibe they are trying for definitely isn't formal. So you get well informed but perhaps slightly unengaged service. I just think at these prices, and quality, I'd like service a little more 'on the case'. That said the service was prompt, the descriptions of the food and help with choices very professional. The menu is the very on-trend 'nose to tail meets mild foraging'. Everything was well executed and punching with flavour. The veal chop and onglet were perfectly judged cooking. Would I go again?... yes if I was feeling wealthy for the night and had some real foodies in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Scallops made me ill”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Came here for business meal, 12 of us, the waitress was pleasant but left us alone so no chance to complain about the fact my scallops were cold and seemed burned on outside and raw in the centre. I was quite ill later and did not enjoy the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S8C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“food is great, service is not”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is hard to find great food with great service including this place. they seemed to be unorganized from the moment we walked into the door. It is nice to see some individuality instead of cookie cutter servers but I believe they are trying to be more hip than actually a good server. Our server didn't write down our order which is probably why we didnt receive one of appetizers that we did order, asked if we wanted another cocktail fifteen minutes after we were finished with the first one, dropped off the check with out removing any finished dirty dishes. also noticed the table next to us was not happy with the service as well. all four of the dished we did receive were delicious, interesting, flavorful, and eye apealing. We will think twice about going back though. I have been in the business for over 20 years and am very reasonable for 1 or 2 mistakes or excuses, but from the poor slow greeting all the way through to the no good-bye or thank you this place needs some training and management.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique food with a northern flare but slightly pricey.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Our food was absolutely incredible. We dine with friends and between the four of us we enjoyed the pork rilettes, smoked trout pâté, oysters, pork cheek, pork chops, the rare tuna and the sturgeon. For appetizers, I really recommend the smoked trout pâté! The sturgeon and root vegetable hash was perfect together and a perfect portion size. We ordered a round of beer for the kitchen staff (see bottom of the menu) and since we ordered it before we had tried anything the kitchen staff sent out a few free appetizers because they were so happy in our confidence in them! Decor is modern, northern woods. Great place for business dinner or dinner with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanerFrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Hinterland Erie Street Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing