We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot”
Review of Meritage - CLOSED

Meritage
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Met friends here for dinner on a Saturday night. It is a smaller restaurant, You will need reservations. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, didn't rush us at all. The menu offered just enough choices along with the nightly special. The mushroom bread pudding and beet salad made for an interesting appetizers. Our entrees of lamb shank and scallops were good and flavorful. A wine list is available with some good selections. The chocolate mousse cake was wonderful. It made for a great evening. I would return.
It is street parking and tables are close together although I would not say it was noisy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackster1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Meritage is a gem. Consistently great food. Local sources. Interesting seasonal options. Always a great vegetarian choice. Reasonably priced/very good wines. Make a reservation. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of Milwaukee's Hidden Gems”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My friends and I went to Meritage after hearing good things about it and were blown away by this hidden gem. First off, it is a fairly small restaurant and they do pack the tables in so if you are going on a weekend night I would recommend getting a reservation. While the packed in atmosphere made it a livelier atmosphere, if you have someone distracting (we did) near you, you'll definitely notice but not enough to take away from the overall experience. The food and drinks were excellent. The chicken and waffles appetizer was delicious and the whole table was impressed. I also ordered a Brandy Old-Fashioned sweet and it was very good - something hard to find. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals - I ordered one of the specials and was not disappointed. I can easily say this was one of the best meals I've had in a long time and will definitely be going back. Prices for entrees ranged from $15-25 but averaged around $20. Appetizers were $8-10 with drinks being typical. Their wine list is very extensive as well.

Service was also very good and attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambler285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Meritage is in a renewed area of Milwaukee. The food is healthy, interesting, mouth wateringly delicious. Excellent service. The tables are a bit close together so it is a noisy, lively ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It deserves the wonderful reviews that it gets. The food is delicious. The menu is awesome, and then you get there and the specials are even better. They offered some awesome tapas last time we we stopped in. The wait staff is very good as well. We go for dinner on weekdays and it tends to be slow. Shhh...don't tell anyone. Highly highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meritage also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
 
Milwaukee, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing