We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun lunch spot!”

Cafe Hollander Downer
Ranked #105 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun lunch spot!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great food and craft beer! Service was awesome, a slow paced relaxing atmosphere. If you are tight for time be sure to let your server know. Unique sandwiches we tried the portobello mushroom and the Brie, tomato and basil sandwich with sweet potato fries and honey mustard dipping sauce! The burger menu looked very good too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    69
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great burger, great service”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The burger arrived looking like a little char-grilled steak, and was very tasty. Not an overwhelming amount of bun, just right fries, Service was great. This outdoor seating area has plenty of choices and plenty to look at.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Could Be Better”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to Cafe Hollander today with my husband. We sat outside, which was nice. The staff, however, seemed completely overwhelmed. It seemed like they were very understaffed. We had to wait a long time before we even got our order taken. The food was good, but not as good as you would expect for the price. We probably won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Idea is Better than the Reality”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped here for brunch on a Sunday. The place was crowded but not packed. The staff seemed completely lost, our waiter in particular. We sat outside on the very nice outdoor patio they have. Unfortunately it took about 15min for our waiter to even ask if we wanted anything to drink. I noticed that tables around us were in a similar boat. The food was decent but really nothing spectacular, I would even say overpriced but I guess you was paying for the atmosphere. The place clearly has some management issues. I think I can safely say that this place lost more than a few return customers this morning Including myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krugja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overated”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff was very disorganised. No one seemed to know who had what section. Our waitress did not know the menu and could not answer basic questions. We noted onlt 14 tables of diners in various stages of thire meals, and 6 staff members. We waited 45min for
3 med rare burgers, never got an offer to refresh beverages, and the final insult... we were charged for ketcup. I do not see the attraction to this place. Pizza Man...bring it on!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank muffinman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hollander Downer also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Hollander Downer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing