We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights en route to Chicago. We loved the feeling that were not a chain hotel but in a more intimate type of hostelry. The receptionist was very professional, welcoming, efficient & knowledgeable. Our 'snug' room was located right next to the lift & we thought it would be noisy, how wrong we were, it was fine. The room was spotless, comfortable & had everything we needed, the whirlpool bath was wonderful. We ate here both nights & weren't disappointed. Breakfast was very good & we loved the omelette station, what a great idea! The location of the inn is perfect. We walked along the lake side for miles in the sunshine & it was lovely to be able to sit outside & enjoy a Guinness when we got back. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We chose the Snug Room which was the least expensive & we were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkers706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    109
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
202
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Everything we wanted in a boutique hotel in the middle of the city. Staff was great, but the rooms were even better. We would recommend the extra few dollars to get a suite, conveniently located on a private corridor off the reception desk. The stay includes breakfast, made to order omelettes in a setting right out of rural Ireland. The view of the quiet, quaint neighborhood with accompany tower of a nearby church sets off the peaceful atmosphere.

This hotel receives our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

They have good omelets and a fantastic service. The WiFi its one of the best WiFi that I have tried in a hotel of this size. Walk to the north and you can find good stuff to eat. To the east and you can see the lake.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rcgonzalezf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
430 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very relaxed and comfortable pub. I didn't stay here but the bar area was good. Nice selection of beer and a full backbar to boot. Seems to be a place where the locals come quite regularly also which speaks for the quality of the place . Nice pub.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at County Clare 5 nights. Everything suited us fine: room pretty and comfortable, breakfast great and pub just what a pub should be. We walked to many attractions and found Milwaukee to be a lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy60933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent our anniversary with friends at the Clare the weekend before St Patricks weekend. Who would have known Milwaukee celebrates the holiday a week early! The whole weekend was a blast. The pub within the Clare is a great meeting place & The pub food was delish. No entertainment the weekend we were there as the whole town was celebrating St Patrick & seating is limited in the pub. Accommodations were great as always and being able to celebrate in the pub and simply walk through the door to get to your room is so convenient. The chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven really hit the spot. The next morning had the corn beef has breakfast & it was all homemade and outstanding with big chunks of Cohen beef not little ground up pieces. Wife had full Irish breakfast which was equally good. Bloody Mary's were not as tasty as they looked, need a little work in the drink but the skewer appetizer is very good. The Clare is in walking distance to many other restaurants & establishments. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night. We were in town to see a comedian at the Riverside Theatre and we also went on the Margarita Fiesta Cruise prior to the show. The employees at the hotel were very friendly. We received cookies upon arrival. We had one of the large suites and it suited what we needed for one night. The whirlpool was a bonus, along with the free breakfast. We were able to order anything we wanted off of the breakfast menu the next day in the restaurant - which ended up being a $25 value. The food was great too! We had planned on grabbing cabs throughout the night, but we ended up walking to all the venues that we went to. (Riverside Theatre, Port of Call Restaurant and the Red Rock Saloon) I even had heals on, never would I have thought that we were actually as close to everything as we were. Even walked back to the hotel around midnight and felt safe. The hotel also has free parking. Only have one complaint - we were on the first floor, and I could hear the traffic outside the bedroom window. I'm a light sleeper - as my boyfriend is not, so it didn't bother him the least. (our room faced the front of the hotel and the main road) I would definitly stay at this hotel again - really good value, espcially for a whirlpool suite, free parking, free breakfast and proximity to the downtown area.

Room Tip: I would suggest to get a room that doesn't face the front of the building - road traffic can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tagirlracer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 N Astor St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2822
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing