We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Midland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Room”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very large room with a hot tub. Room was very clean. The omelet cooked by a chef for breakfast was great. The rest of the breakfast was self serve. Nice location with a pub/restaurant downstairs. Staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidM678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    114
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
224
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great Inn with a awesome location. I have stayed twice on business trips and enjoyed my stay both times. The rooms are reasonably priced and they offer a Government rate. The food is good, but if it is not what you want there are several great restaurants with in walking distance. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. Most if not all have a rooms garden/jacuzzi tub. I plan to stay again next time I visit Milwaukee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Inn is very warm and welcoming. We stayed in suite 309 the room was very roomy. The bathroom was large with a hot tub we did not use. The hallway is narrow so you can hear the doors closing. At night you hear the city buses driving past the inn. But that is what you get for staying in the city. The pub was very nice, the food was good and fresh. We had the Ruben rolls to start. The soups and main dishes were all delish. When you stay at the Inn you get a complementally breakfast, which is a made to order omelet, with breads, juice, coffee or tea. Breakfast is very good, could use some fresh fruit. Inn was clean but not spotless, few spider webs on lights and corners. Nothing major, we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found online that if you booked with them, they sometimes had special deals and we found one for "Sunday Romance" which was quite a bit off the regular room price, PLUS it had a bottle of champagne (which we had converted to two pints), plus a free dessert with the purchase of two entrees, and a hot breakfast. That right there was a winner! Our room was comfortable and cozy (we had the regular room.) The rooms, as most have mentioned, are a bit old, but everything was well kept. We liked how close this Inn was to everything and that it was within a quick walking distance to almost anything! The staff was extremely professional, polite, and courteous!

The food we had was excellent, some of the best of the trip! We liked how the bar looked like Irish pubs as we have both been abroad and been in some of the finest. They also had a great patio area out front that was fun to sit out at. The waitstaff and the bar was fun!

I would definitely recommend staying here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor. We didn't hear any of the noise from Astor Street or from anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the County Clare this past weekend. It's close proximity to the Astor Hotel (where we attended a wedding reception) was the main reason we chose it. We found the Irish atmosphere to be charming. Our suite was very nice and clean (though a TV in the sitting area would have been nice (only TV was across from the king size bed). Only complaint was the street noise as the hotel is located right on the corner of a busy East side street. The next morning we both enjoyed a full course free breakfast that was exellent. I highly recommend the corn beef hash. Plentiful and tasty. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonW763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 1 nite on a thursday for a family gathering. No early checkin but you're welcome to drop your luggage off. Checkin was easy, room was clean and spacious (we had a standard, the rest of the crew had suites...can't comment on the snug). Started in the pub and talked briefly w/the knowledgeable bar tender. Nice selection of local and irish beers. Mussels starter was tasty. Shepard's pie was likewise good. Had some negative comments from the crew on the Ruben. This had thick slices of (very good) corned beef where they are used to thin sliced. Another comment was to increase the amount of sour kraut. In general, the food was very meaty, very irish and portions large. Consider a split.

The rooms are not brand new. As other reviewers have noted, there are signs of wear. But everything was functional and clean and the only recommendation I'd pass on is to consider replacing the mattresses as ours was starting to sag in the middle.

I like the central location but you do have to deal w/some of the indigent population that comes with a central location. One of our rooms had to bear witness to a 2am argument outside the inn (he could have improve his lot if he'd realized his bathroom window was open).

I'd stay again w/o hesitation.

Room Tip: Standard recommendation is to take the top floor to eliminate noise from rooms above you. I'd g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, WI
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Can't say enough about the cleanliness of this Inn. It was most comfortable and so authentic! The neighborhood is great and the convenience of on-site parking was appreciated. The breakfast, which was included with the room, was delicious and very generous with many great choices on the menu. We will certainly be back on a future visit to downtown Milwaukee!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dleigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
836 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,858 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
923 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 N Astor St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2822
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Clare Irish Inn and Pub 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing