We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I loved the feel of this inn and restaurant. It was in walking distances of other restaurants and the lake front. The breakfast during the week that was included with the room was perfect with the made to order omlettes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    107
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
200
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I find myself in Milwaukee, business-pleasure for this particular stay. Would I stay at this property for business...probably not. But for an extended business week into the weekend? Oh yes!
Pub is lively , Paul the bartender, great! Drinks, great atmosphere...well I have not been to Ireland but I would think this is what it should be like. Fantastic vibe and the food was delicious.
Go, have fun and you will not be disappointed, if you like a fun crowd and want to enjoy some chat around the bar!
My room.....cute, quaint and unique. Old fashioned and the location is great.

Room Tip: As I said not for business, only for fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at the County Clare many times, and I have never been disappointed. The hotel rooms are charming, clean, and well maintained. The food in the restaurant is great, the service is impeccable and the atmosphere in the bar is exactly as I remember the public houses in Ireland being!

From a price perspective, the County Clare is priced extremely well, and is a better value than many of the chain hotels in Milwaukee and is a whole lot nicer.

If you are in Milwaukee for business or pleasure and are tired of the monotonous hotel game, stay at the County Clare, you will be hooked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

County Clare has it all! First of all, what a great room. We just had the standard room and it was excellent. A room divider knee wall separates the bedroom from the bath area. There you have a walk in shower and a nice sized jetted tub. The painted crown moulding and trim really gives the room a country feel. Now, if you want to party, you just take the elevator to the very Irish pub. They have an excellent variety of beers and you should not leave without trying one of their bloody Marys. It is a meal in itself. If you are still hungry, try the Shepard's Pie, or any of the other Irish meals. The food is excellent as is the staff. The location is within a short cab ride or long walk to the river, where there is plenty of entertainment. Remember that your stay also includes an excellent breakfast the next morning. Now to top this off, you get all of this at a very reasonable price. We are all ready planning our next trip to Count Clare

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fourth stay at County Clare was GREAT ! Staff is helpful, place is clean, food in the pub downstairs was excellent. We were in 206 which was next to the elevator and we were not disturbed at all. They are short by a few parking spots so this trip the hotel was full and I had to leave my key with the front desk which worried me a bit, but my vehicle was moved into an available spot when one became available. I road the elevator with another patron during my stay and one of the maids and the maid asked us both if we were enjoying ourselves and did we need anything :) Customer service is NOT dead here. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucySis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

County Clare is a nice little B&B close to downtown Milwaukee. There is a cosy Irish restaurant attached, and the room includes a wonderful breakfast there. Our room was a suite with a roll-out bed. Everything was clean and the bathroom (which was accessible for people with disabilities) was gorgeous. However, we stayed in Room 105 on a Saturday night and the noise from the bar was terrible. It went on until about 1 a.m. We complained and got a gift certificate towards our next stay, when we will definitely ask for the room furthest from the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an excellent little hotel, just a bit away from downtown,tucked into a quiet neighborhood...unless you go there St. Patricks day. Great place to stay for a weekend and if you want to feel like you're in Ireland for a bit, it's perfect. Very nice rooms and good food and drink. Would recommend to anyone except they don't accept pets, which is probably a good thing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heanster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 N Astor St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2822
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing