We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stop at just the sweet things!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Sciortino's Bakery

Peter Sciortino's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 19 Bakeries in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't stop at just the sweet things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Of course the bakery goods are wonderful, especially the cannoli which they fill with cream while you wait (the chocolate one is downright sinful). But don't stop there. The olive salads (green or black olives) are worth a try. The celery makes them crunchy and the green olives in my salad were huge and definitely satisfied my salt craving...in a good way. Friend reported that salami was terrific, as usual. There are a few small tables so you don't have to wait until you get back to your car to pig out. I went about 8 am on a Sunday, a time when most of Brady Street is still asleep, and there was no line. I imagine after the church across the street is out, it could get crowded. While this bakery has only been here six years, it feels like it's been there for decades.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    12
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmmm......good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great bakery - enough said. Even the smell is inviting. Many Italian themed delicacies. The cookies are simply the best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMZ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small old fashioned goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed browsing in here. Their bread is good and each pastry item we ordered was sooo good. A must visit when on Brady.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BamBamWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cannoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything's good, but you have to try the cannoli. Best in Milwaukee. Sciortino's has been at this location since I was a kid. When I still lived on Milwaukee's east side it was the only place to go for real authentic Italian bakery.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn0448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tiramisu!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The tiramisu is the BEST! The chocolate dipped cannoli's are filled as you wait. The staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Sciortino's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Peter Sciortino's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing