We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are trying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Milwaukee West
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The bed was comfy and the TV nice. The air conditioner did not do the job and the room smelled musty, moldy. I think was due to AC. The room was small. Location good for access to VA. But hotel gave me the willys. They are remodeling but it is like putting lipstick on a pig. Won't stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cdrlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
We are doing several renovations to the hotel and once everything is complete, the staff and I do hope that you will give us another chance to regain your confidence.
Thank you again for taking time to complete a guest review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Milwaukee West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 515 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

10 minute walk to the ballpark and a few bars on the way, which is awesome. It's a roll of the dice on what you will pay for a room...there's no rhyme or reasoning to how they price. Sometimes it's $80 per night, other times it's $150. I would totally understand if the jacked up the prices for the weekends or if the Brewers were playing a big rival or a historically good team, but that's not the case. Recently renovated throughout, but nothing special...it needed it! So basically if you can get a room for a decent price, it's a perfect hotel for a game or two!

Room Tip: If you can get a decent price for a room with a whirlpool - do it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DOC3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay.
I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations but it is our hope that when more hotel renovations are complete, you will give another chance to regain your confidence.
We do appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel is nestled directly across the street on National Ave., from the VA Medical Center and VARO, little hard to spot when you are coming in. Property was clean and maintained, very friendly staff. Our room came with an iron, microwave, small fridge, hair dryer, free HBO, wi fi and was comfortable and clean.
Price was also decent. It is within walking distance to Miller Park, about a mile. Definitely found our spot for future games.
There is also a nice pool area, exercise room, and hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on your stay on TripAdvisor.
We strive to provide the very best in guest service and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future (or the next Brewer game! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I chose this property based on it's short walking distance to Miller Park for our family of six, including a toddler. For us, that was pretty much the only thing that turned out good. It is an old hotel, with some updates and I believe they're still in the process of updates-which would be a very good thing. Our room seemed to have been "updated" already, but the kitchenette was a throwback from the 1950's or 60's and ruined the whole idea of an update in my opinion. Overall the room was spacious and seemed clean when we arrived, but housekeeping left things like last night's pizza on the counter and half eaten pieces on plates, which I thought was odd. The ladies who worked the front desk during the day were awesome, but the man who came in at night was a bit rough around the edges. When a breaker was thrown on our floor he seemed angry and rude that he'd have to come up and fix it. He was bothered by another guest's question about where to park (parking is VERY SPARSE) and in a very rude tone told him to just park in the street. I always use Tripadvisor when making decisions on hotels and I knew that this place wouldn't be one that we'd normally stay at, but figured it would be fine for two nights and the walk to the game would make it worth it. In the end, I would've spent only game night there and moved us the next day. Our time there wasn't awful, but it's unlikely I'd make the same choice in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ks0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to read about the problems you encountered with Housekeeping and one of our Front Desk staff. These issues will definitely be looked into.
We strive to provide the very best in guest service and hotel cleanliness and I apologize we were not able to live up to your expectations!
It is my hope that you will give us another chance to regain your confidence if your travels bring you to Milwaukee again.
Thank you again for letting us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Woods View Inn is located in a mixed use residential neighborhood reminiscent of old Milwaukee yet close to downtown and the waterfront. Very courteous and efficient staff and great value! Room was clean and comfortable and the business center well-equipped and functioning. Everything is compact, yet there is ample space. Several dining establishments very nearby---would especially recommend Regel's Inn for traditional German cuisine in a cozy cottage-type setting. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. The staff strives to provide the very best in guest service and hotel cleanliness. It is our hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is older but has been very recently updated. We has two double beds and our room was tight. The parking was a bit tight. The rooms and pool were clean. The service was top notch. We were there for a convention at Miller Park. We could walk every day. The front desk ladies, Linda and Nicole were very friendly and accommodating. The free continental breakfast was good! Pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy! And Sue worked her tail off keeping up with all the guests! So thanks to Linda, Nicole and Sue!!! Overall it's a decent place to stay and would come again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelBel177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review-The Management & staff greatly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our preferred place to stay when coming to town for Brewer games. 15 minute walk to Miller Park. Updated rooms are nice and clean. Friendly staff...no issues. Front desk recommended a pizza delivery place and it was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to complete a review-The management & staff appreciates it!
Glad to read you enjoyed your pizza! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Milwaukee West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Milwaukee West

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Milwaukee West 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Best Western Milwaukee West is the place to stay during your visit to Milwaukee. With our recently renovated restaurant National Pizza Pub and Grille right on site we have everything to make your stay great! Just steps to the VA Medical complex, the closest hotel to Miller Park, and just minutes from Downtown. Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel. Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the Best Western Milwaukee West makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Grounds, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events. Corporate travelers appreciate that the Best Western Milwaukee West is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Milwaukee West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing