We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel near VA Hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Milwaukee West
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Rooms are clean and staff is friendly. Only few blocks from the VA Hospital. In good weather I am sure you could walk it. We had a kitchenette with Fridge, microwave and stove. They provide you with a few cooking utensils. Parking is not ideal especially in the winter. Lot is hilly and behind hotel. I didn't use the fitness center or pool, but they looked in good condition. Little loud at night with some party guests, but all in all not bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ahaselow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your feedback about your most recent stay with us! We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience minus some of your loud neighbors. We try very hard to provide all of our guests with a comfortable stay and we will continue to explore better ways to ensure just that. Once again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 523 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was under construction, but the place was still neat and inviting. The parking was tricky with the tight lot and skinny driveway. The rooms were nice, except the strong smoke smell. I think this may be due to the recent law changes in WI about smoking in buildings. The bed was so comfortable. The price was great. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Leah,
As you pointed out our hotel does indeed have several construction projects going on in efforts to improve our hotel for all of our future guests we are elated to hear that we have delivered on the goal for our work not to negatively impact our guests. Please accept our since apologies on the odor in your room, even though our hotel is a smoke free property some still choose to smoke in the rooms, however we should have caught that prior to your arrival and rectified the issue and for that we are truly sorry. Our recently upgraded our bedding package and ever since our guests have had nothing but great things to say about them. We greatly appreciate you sharing your feelings about your stay with us and hope to see you next time your travels bring you back through Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed here when it is available on my trip to the V.A. Hospital for my brother. I have been satisfied every time I have stayed here. I will definitely be staying here in the near future for his surgery appointment if a room is available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

James,
We are delighted to hear we are able to provide you with comfortable accommodations for your visits to Milwaukee. We are very grateful for you taking the time to share your experiences with us and all of our future guests. We hope you are happy with all the upgrades and updates during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

very nice caring people at front desk. Housekeeping assisted with all requests for room clean up. the property was well maintained despite remodeling/construction in the premises. Most people at hotel were happy staying at this location and we even extended our stay for two more nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Antonio, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay we us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an older hotel situated close to the VA administration offices and the area VA hospital.

They have worked hard to make it comfortable and provide the kind of amenities you find in the newer road warrior hotels like Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites.

The price was reasonable, the rooms were comfortable, the breakfast bar had the usual foods, the Cable tv worked well and all the rooms had large screen flat panels.

For someone traveling on VA business, it is close and convenient. It also has a year round indoor pool and spa in the basement. Restaurant and bar attached.

I thought Hampton Inns had slow elevators until I encountered this one.

Room Tip: We used the stairs a lot because the elevator was sooo slow. A room close to the stairs would be my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Steve,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Best Western. We are elated to hear that that our updates and improvements allowed for you to have a comfortable and productive stay here in Milwaukee. I am happy to say we have only begun our improvements and the next 4 months are going to be a whirlwind here at the hotel while we remodel the restaurant, guest room bathrooms, install microwaves and refrigerators in every room, and just today we initiated the process to install a 100 mbps upload and 100 mbps internet connection to the hotel! Once again we thank you for your feedback and your business and look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you back through Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was reccomended the company I work for while I was in milwaukee for business. The staff was very helpful, and the room was comfortable, clean, and modern. The breakfast area was also very nice with modern furniture. I was very pleased with my stay and this is the only place I will continue to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Courtney,
We are very pleased to hear that you will only stay with us during your visits to Milwaukee. You will be pleased to hear we are moving forward with several updates and upgrades to the property over the next few months that we are sure you will be pleased with when your travels bring you back through Milwaukee. Once again we thank you for taking the time out of your busy day and sharing your feelings about our hotel with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ok - bed and pillows comfortable. Room was 83 degrees - turned off heat and turned on air conditioning unfortunately the heat continued to run because of the system - ran both and our room was 70. There is no where to walk to once you check in - you are at the hotel for the night. Parking anything over a compact car is difficult. Eggs were like rubber, skim milk was VERY sour. For the price we probably got what we paid for in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Michael,
On behalf of the entire team please allow for me to apologize for the unfavorable experience you had during your stay with us. We are currently looking into several options that will allow the heating and cooling systems to better work together to accommodate our guests with whatever temperature they prefer. We are also working on several other updates and upgrades throughout the entire hotel and we would hope you would afford us another opportunity in the future to deliver on our goal of providing our guests with the most comfortable and pleasurable experience possible while they are with us. Once again accept our apologies for the unfavorable experience and thank you for letting us know so we can do everything we can from them occurring again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,616 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Milwaukee West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Milwaukee West

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Milwaukee West 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Best Western Milwaukee West is the place to stay during your visit to Milwaukee. With our recently renovated restaurant National Pizza Pub and Grille right on site we have everything to make your stay great! Just steps to the VA Medical complex, the closest hotel to Miller Park, and just minutes from Downtown. Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel. Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the Best Western Milwaukee West makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Grounds, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events. Corporate travelers appreciate that the Best Western Milwaukee West is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Milwaukee West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing