We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Allis, South Milwaukee area. VA Hospital complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Milwaukee West
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an older hotel situated close to the VA administration offices and the area VA hospital.

They have worked hard to make it comfortable and provide the kind of amenities you find in the newer road warrior hotels like Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites.

The price was reasonable, the rooms were comfortable, the breakfast bar had the usual foods, the Cable tv worked well and all the rooms had large screen flat panels.

For someone traveling on VA business, it is close and convenient. It also has a year round indoor pool and spa in the basement. Restaurant and bar attached.

I thought Hampton Inns had slow elevators until I encountered this one.

Room Tip: We used the stairs a lot because the elevator was sooo slow. A room close to the stairs would be my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Steve,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Best Western. We are elated to hear that that our updates and improvements allowed for you to have a comfortable and productive stay here in Milwaukee. I am happy to say we have only begun our improvements and the next 4 months are going to be a whirlwind here at the hotel while we remodel the restaurant, guest room bathrooms, install microwaves and refrigerators in every room, and just today we initiated the process to install a 100 mbps upload and 100 mbps internet connection to the hotel! Once again we thank you for your feedback and your business and look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you back through Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 540 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was reccomended the company I work for while I was in milwaukee for business. The staff was very helpful, and the room was comfortable, clean, and modern. The breakfast area was also very nice with modern furniture. I was very pleased with my stay and this is the only place I will continue to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Courtney,
We are very pleased to hear that you will only stay with us during your visits to Milwaukee. You will be pleased to hear we are moving forward with several updates and upgrades to the property over the next few months that we are sure you will be pleased with when your travels bring you back through Milwaukee. Once again we thank you for taking the time out of your busy day and sharing your feelings about our hotel with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ok - bed and pillows comfortable. Room was 83 degrees - turned off heat and turned on air conditioning unfortunately the heat continued to run because of the system - ran both and our room was 70. There is no where to walk to once you check in - you are at the hotel for the night. Parking anything over a compact car is difficult. Eggs were like rubber, skim milk was VERY sour. For the price we probably got what we paid for in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Michael,
On behalf of the entire team please allow for me to apologize for the unfavorable experience you had during your stay with us. We are currently looking into several options that will allow the heating and cooling systems to better work together to accommodate our guests with whatever temperature they prefer. We are also working on several other updates and upgrades throughout the entire hotel and we would hope you would afford us another opportunity in the future to deliver on our goal of providing our guests with the most comfortable and pleasurable experience possible while they are with us. Once again accept our apologies for the unfavorable experience and thank you for letting us know so we can do everything we can from them occurring again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is a typical Best Western. Found the service good. Staff is courteous and accommodating. Rooms are large and clean and the breakfast they serve in the morning is typical. The hotel is located on a busy road which is good if you are looking for public transport - the bus stops right in front of the hotel. There is a wallgreens and Kmart near by. I usually find Best Westerns better than other long stay chains (except Marriot and Hyatt), and this one stands upto the expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aMaverickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us. While we are very happy to hear that you felt we delivered what you have come to expect from Best Western our goal is to exceed your expectations. We are in the midst of a service updates and upgrades to the property that we hope you will be pleasantly surprised with the nest time you come to visit. Once again we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Best Western Woodsview is always good for staying in Milwaukee, always use it when we go to Brewers games, the zoo or The Rave. Would recommend this to anyone staying in the area, cab rides are easy and get you anywhere you need to go in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik U, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Matthew,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us during your most recent visit to Milwaukee. The best kept secret of our hotel is our close proximity to everything Milwaukee has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and are excited for you to see the updates and upgrades we are currently working on here at the hotel. Once again we greatly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and all of our futures guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This older hotel has been significantly renovated inside and out. The lobby is very nice - nice decoration, very clean and comfortable, with a computer and desk for business use. Outside is nicely updated, lawn is green and flowers are a nice touch. The room was large and very clean. Staff was professional, courteous, and helpful. I came in late; the late-night desk staff was bright-eyed and friendly. The operators are working hard to create a quality experience. They succeeded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thanks for your GREAT feedback on the staff and hotel. I'm excited you had a GREAT stay! Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are in Milwaukee for one night to see a Brewers game and you want to save a little $$$, this is the Hotel for you. We were in town for a Friday night Brewers game moving on to Chicago for a Cubs game on Saturday. If you are a veteran of Stadium trips, you know how rare it is to be able to avoid the ridiculous parking fees charged at every park. The absolute best part of this hotel is that you can walk to the park in about 15 minutes on a paved trail through a "woodsy" area. It is fairly well lit for the return trip. The other part of this hotel that I liked was the pool area. I have 8 year old twins, so the pool is very important. My expectations were very, very low. However, it was clean and both the pool and the hot tub were what I thought to be properly heated. I was disappointed that the hotel did not provide towels, however.
One very easy fix the mgmt. Could incorporate would be to move their smoking area from the front steps. Your first impression when you get to the front door is this overwhelming aroma of smoke and ash. It can make a guest very leery about the smell of the rest of the property. As other reviewers have stated, the hotel does smell, not like smoke, but there is a very musty smell to the hotel. I didn't notice any glaring problems with the room other than the fact that the beds are full size instead of queen. I've never stayed at a hotel that didn't have queen or king beds. The only other real issue is that the breakfast area is entirely too small. Tough to find the space to move around or sit for that matter. Breakfast items were fine though. We were in town for a total of 16 hours......this hotel was fine. Any more than one night, I would spend the extra money for a little more quality!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tonyho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff50023, General Manager at Best Western Milwaukee West, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Best Western Woods View Inn. We apreciate your thoughts and suggestions with respect to the smoking area. This will assist us when evaulating our guest's needs and expectations. Hope you will come back and give us another chance to provide you with outstanding service in the future.
Sincerely,
Colleen Swirth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Milwaukee West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Milwaukee West

Address: 5501 W National Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53214-3414 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Milwaukee West 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Best Western Milwaukee West is the place to stay during your visit to Milwaukee. With our recently renovated restaurant National Pizza Pub and Grille right on site we have everything to make your stay great! Just steps to the VA Medical complex, the closest hotel to Miller Park, and just minutes from Downtown. Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel. Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the Best Western Milwaukee West makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Grounds, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events. Corporate travelers appreciate that the Best Western Milwaukee West is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Milwaukee West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing