We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one reason to stay here - Miller Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Milwaukee West
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is older, but they keep it clean. The basement bar and restaurant are a nice touch, especially considering the neighborhood has little to offer. The food at the restaurant is OK - pretty good pizza. The free breakfast is meager, but better than nothing. The AC in the rooms is old and loud. The TVs in the rooms are circa 1995. Despite all these fair/poor qualities, I've stayed here about 6 times, and I plan to return. The reason: it's close to Miller Park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissedMuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Milwaukee West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 507 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, this hotel is located in a perfect spot in relation to Miller Park. We were able to check in early and park our car then we walked to the stadium which was about a 10-15 minute walk. We were aware of the shuttle but decided that we would walk instead. All of the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was very clean. The shower curtain was really short, though, and all of the water went on the floor. Not too important considering we were leaving but if we were to stay more than one night it might be a problem. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night while we went to a Brewer game - it was perfect for us. They let us check in early so we could park the car and change before walking to the game (about a mile away but could have taken the shuttle). As noted in other reviews, the hotel is older, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was fantastic! The pool was also nice and clean. We didn't use the hot tub, so I can't comment on that. We'll definitely stay there again if we go to another Brewer game.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed for four nights as a base in Milwaukee to visit various Harley Davidson sites, especially the HD museum.

Location wise the hotel is good for access to the city, Miller Park baseball field and the west side of the city. Mainly suburban area with a few restaurants and bars to walk to. Crawdaddy's Cajun restaurant is particularly good. On-site restaurant is more of a sports bar that happens to do food. The food is inexpensive but pretty good, especially the pizza. Nice friendly staff and the locals were equally friendly and gave lots of advice on the local area.

Hotel is on a busy road (West National Ave) with lots of noisy traffic and trucks from 0500hrs through to 0200hrs. Our room faced the road admittedly so asking for a rear facing room would make a big difference. The occupants of the hotel were also generally noisy and it could just be the layout that causes people to shout down the corridors to one another as they return to their rooms. Why do people do that ??? Rear facing rooms also seem to be more modern and have been updated from my sneaky peek as we walked down the corridor, which would be nicer.

Car parking is good and reception is quick and efficient. Never managed to eat breakfast in the hotel as the breakfast area is very small and it was always full. However we did find Miss Katie's Diner about 2 or 3 miles away which was brilliant (see separate review). Having found the diner I doubt if we would have used the free breakfast option in the hotel anyway.

Rooms are standard US motel size, beds were comfy and all was clean and acceptable. Slightly dated furnishing in Our room but perfectly fine overall. We were in Room 120 on the ground floor (even numbers face the road) and the guests upstairs could be heard every time they moved around as the floors creak quite a lot. Again it's the noise thing !

Air con works in the room but again is pretty noisy so leaving it on is not really an option if you want to sleep.

All in all this hotel does what is expected, nothing is fantastic but equally nothing is really bad. I live in a very quiet place so a noisy hotel next to a busy road is more noticeable for me. Others may not notice as much.

The test is always "would I return" ? Overall, the answer would be probably yes, but I'd ask for a room facing the car park.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank CeeBeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We wanted to catch a day game at Miller Park and do a few other things around Milwaukee. We wanted to be centrally located, but we didn’t want to spend a fortune on a hotel room. We found the Best Western Woodsview Inn on National Avenue to fit the bill. Although the room was very small, it was clean and had a comfortable bed. The room included a free continental breakfast, which was quite extensive: hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, English muffins, sweet rolls and waffles. The breakfast was available in a cheery room off the main lobby. Even though most of the other guests were very messy when using this room, it was quickly cleaned by hotel employees. The hotel also included an indoor pool, hot tub and a small exercise room which we never had time to use. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was extremely quiet - no noise from the hallway or from neighboring rooms.

There was a bar/restaurant located in the same building as the hotel called Emilia’s Grotto/Mollica’s Pub. They offered free shuttles (2 drink minimum) to Miller Park. The people in the bar and the driver were polite and friendly. The driver dropped us off very near an entrance and picked us up exactly where he said he would when the game was over.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is an older hotel but it is clean and our 1st floor room was updated compared to other rooms I have stayed in at this hotel. They had a shuttle out of the downstairs restaurant that took you to and from the game which was really nice! The staff was really helpful and polite. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the bar downstairs was nice to have as many bars and restaurants are further away. Love staying here for Brewers games!

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BREWERSFAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Have stayed here a few times over the years as a place to stay/walk to a Brewers game. Parking is free to guests and they have a little map that you cut across the VA Hospital property to get to the park. It takes about 20 minutes to walk. Quicker than across the parking lot of the Park lol.

Rooms are a bit dated but very clean. Jason at the front desk is always friendly. They offer continental breakfast which is good. Free internet in the breakfast room and you get the code from the front desk. All in all a good bargain for staying here and not having to navigate the traffic in/out of the stadium and no need for a designated driver.

Stop off at the 4th base bar 2 blocks away for a good burger after the game.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank needtovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,645 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Milwaukee West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Milwaukee West

Address: 5501 West National Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53214 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Woods View Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $93 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Milwaukee West 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Best Western Milwaukee West is the place to stay during your visit to Milwaukee. With our recently renovated restaurant National Pizza Pub and Grille right on site we have everything to make your stay great! Just steps to the VA Medical complex, the closest hotel to Miller Park, and just minutes from Downtown. Discover all that Milwaukee has to offer - from Miller Park to the Milwaukee County Zoo - from this affordable and convenient hotel. Offering easy access to the I-94 and I-41, the Best Western Milwaukee West makes it easy to experience the area's most popular attractions. Miller Park, home of the Milwaukee Brewers and many other concerts and events throughout the year, is just a mile away. Other big-name events are held at the nearby State Fair Grounds, and Milwaukee's famous annual music festival, Summerfest, is held each summer about five miles away. This Milwaukee hotel is also within minutes of some of the city's cultural attractions, like Miller Brewery and the Milwaukee County Zoo. We are a great choice for athletes in town for kickball, ice skating and hockey at the Pettit National Ice Center, and other sporting events. Corporate travelers appreciate that the Best Western Milwaukee West is conveniently located to businesses in the retail, medical and education sectors. The Mayfair, Southridge and Brookfield Malls are all within 15 minutes of the hotel, and the VA Hospital, Froedert Hospital and Medical College are just steps away. The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee is less than ten miles away. Other local business draws include the Wisconsin Expo Center, PH Mining/Harnischfege, Siemens Power Corporation and Rockwell. This West Milwaukee hotel also offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or other events. This Best Western hotel in Milwaukee makes each guest feel at home with spacious guest rooms, featuring rooms with kitchenettes, Free Wi-Fi and cable television. Other convenient hotel amenities include a complimentary breakfast, onsite cocktail lounge, indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are proud to offer superior customer service and comfortable accommodations in west Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Milwaukee West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Woods View Hotel Milwaukee
Best Western Milwaukee
Milwaukee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing