We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steaks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mason Street Grill

Mason Street Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Mason Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Description: Welcome to Mason Street Grill, where our world-renown steaks, warm ambiance and gracious staff are waiting to make your ordinary day extraordinary! Whether entertaining colleagues or dining with special friends Mason Street Grill’s lunch and dinner menus are sure to please every appetite. Enjoy happy-hour in our Lounge while listening to Milwaukee’s best live jazz, Monday-Saturday. Our private dining rooms are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings, and feature our culinary team’s outstanding customized menus. Come on in and make yourself comfortable, and let us take care of the rest!
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The steaks were amazing, wine was expensive but good, service top notch too.Our table was in the middle of the room, which was too brightly lighted, so not very intimate. A little less light would have gone a long way to more romantic on Valentines Day! But everything was top notch! Would highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    123
    42
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food is a 5/5...Service is a 1/5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The food was pricey but DELICOUS. My date and I had steaks and they were honestly the best steaks we have had in a long time. We ordered the side trio where you pick 3 sides for the price of 2 and they are big enough to share between 2-3 people. All three we selected were good. I would have given this restaurant a 5/5 but the service was HORRIBLE.

Our service experience...
We arrived right before open but the front door was open so we walked in. Another couple followed behind us. A waitress in the bar told us they were not open yet but to go ahead and sit in the bar area if we would like. We did. As a 3rd couple came in, the waitress went over and offered them drinks. Wait - we've been sitting here and you offer the 3rd couple who walk in drinks? We tried to be patient, but she never asked us or the 2nd couple who walked in for drinks. As they opened, and more couples and groups came in, we saw them being seated by the front host employee. We felt skipped once again, but we went ahead up and put our name in. Again, they told us it would just be a minute, so we sat and waited ...for MANY minutes... as more and more people were coming in and seated. When we walked back up to the host to ask her when we would be seated, she said she didn't see us sitting and forgot we were there. - WOW.

The food was so good that we will honestly go back. I'm hoping the service issues were just a fluke.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahDB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mason Street Grill for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

An associate and I were in Milwaukee for business this past week. Since it was rather chilly outside, we decided to dine at the restaurant attached to the Pfister Hotel. It was quite a pleasant surprise!

Attentive service starts as you walk up to the counter, and continued throughout our dining experience. Getting the bread basket was nothing ordinary: the warm dill bread they serve was fantastic! I ordered a swordfish that was the special (served with fingerling potatoes and a veggie), it was cooked to perfection with a light butter sauce. My dining partner had a steak cooked to perfection and a side baked potato (served with the toppings on the side). It was huge and could easily have been split for two people.

Dessert is not to be missed. I ordered the salted caramel ice cream that was very tasty. I had a bite or two of my dining partner's Carrot Cake, which is not to be missed. It is very likely the best I have ever tasted!

The place on a weeknight was filled with suits, with a dozen or more having dinner in the wine cellar, so it is not a secret among Milwaukee's business community. Tables are spaced so you will not be hearing other conversations. To stay indoors, we walked through the bar to get to the restaurant - With their live music, it looks like a great place to meet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ7Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The ultimate eatery in Milwaukee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everyone in our party of four was delighted with the experience. We all agreed that The Mason Street Grill was superb from our first drink, to appetizers, main courses and sides. Nothing was less than perfect. I would suggest, when making a winter reservation, to request seating away from the door. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boris414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were a group of 4 that had a great dinner here. I liked the choice of food and a great selection of wines as well. Sirloin beef was tender and portions are adequate. Nice per-dinner drinks that can be enjoyed in the cosy bar area with a nice fireplace. I will return here on my next stay in Milwaukee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torsten_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mason Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing