We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans food in MKE”
Review of Maxie's

Maxie's
Ranked #43 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Maxie's is Milwaukee's outpost of Southern cooking and comfort food. Known for seafood and fish dishes, Maxie's features an oyster bar with Happy Hour and nightly specials. Maxie's draws inspiration from throughout the South, and serves barbecue, Low Country favorites, Cajun and Creole cuisine.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
288 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“New Orleans food in MKE”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've wanted to try Maxie's for a while, and we finally made it this weekend.
A good variety of New Orleans (or at least New Orleans inspired) food. The jambalaya was very good, but at the spicy end of my spice tolerance (especially the sausage). My adult daughter liked her beef brisket, but said it was a bit too "saucy". (She really liked the mac and cheese on the side). My wife, who doesn't have much spice tolerance, opted for the burger, and said it was quite good; the sweet potato fries she got with it were particularly good. I think the key is be warned that the spices will be spicy!
Maxie's is VERY popular. We went very early on a Saturday (~4:40) and it was already quite busy. By the time we left at about 6:15, the wait was about an hour and a half. We were upstairs, so away from the waiting crowds; I can see where it would get somewhat claustrophobic being downstairs with a lot of waiting parties crammed in.
Good but not remarkable service.
We'd go back when in the mood for something a bit more exciting than usual.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KV-MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    78
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I love this place! If you like southern food you will love this place. We like the relaxed and casual atmosphere of this place too! We went here again last night and we had peel and eat shrimp and fried oysters which were both amazing and we also had some gumbo that was pretty good too. There is nothing pretentious about this place, just good food and good service in a nice relaxed setting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc WI
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cajun Comfort”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great Cajun food, no reservations but you can call 30 minutes ahead of time to put your name on the list. DO THIS. This place is small, can have long waits, crowded, excellent service. All of the meals in our party were perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chief400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've been here a few times as many people claim this is the best "something" in Tosa. I think they're nuts. They are always busy (you'd think a good sign), but what it really means is long waits, and poor service. The food is pretty good, but nothing special and there's nothing really to be said for the atmosphere itself. It gets pretty loud when busy...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern food, infused cocktails + great service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Do NOT miss this restaurant when you are in Milwaukee. They do not take reservations for parties less than 6 people, but it is worth the wait. (HINT: you may call about 10-15 min before your arrival to get placed on the seating list.) The website was not up-to-date at the time of our visit, though it is updated regularly. The seasonal-infused cocktails were a treat. It is a delight to see a northern restaurant nail Cajun and Creole cooking. There are also gluten-free options available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrice518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxie's also viewed

 

Been to Maxie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing