We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, great food, marred by service shortfalls”
Review of Maxie's

Maxie's
Ranked #40 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: Maxie's is Milwaukee's outpost of Southern cooking and comfort food. Known for seafood and fish dishes, Maxie's features an oyster bar with Happy Hour and nightly specials. Maxie's draws inspiration from throughout the South, and serves barbecue, Low Country favorites, Cajun and Creole cuisine.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
450 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Cool place, great food, marred by service shortfalls”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited Maxie's on a Friday night. We called in advance to get on the list, but we were told it would be another half hour. We decided to stay anyway, and the wait turned into only about 10-15 minutes. We were seated and served relatively quickly, but our table was near the door and we felt a chilly breeze every time someone came in (which was frequent!). The server explained the menu very well, including seasonal items that would change soon. We ordered the mahi mahi special, plus the fish stew. Both meals were really delicious. We had also ordered soup, and we were a little surprised when the main courses arrived and we had not been served the soup yet. The server apologized, and brought the soup a few minutes later. The server also forgot to bring the wine that I had ordered to go with the meal, so that came late too. At least the server did not charge us for the soups that they brought late.

They seemed to be a little short-handed, so it may be that our experience was isolated. I would give them another shot before saying that you should expect less-than-stellar service.
This is not a good choice if you are looking for a quiet, romantic evening together.
On the bright side, the food was really good, the atmosphere busy but fun, and many people seemed to be enjoying their evening. Prices were very reasonable. We will probably go back, but plan our timing a bit better (if that is possible).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    78
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friends raved about Maxie's, so we tried it and found it to be quite an un-enjoyable experience. The atmosphere is the worst aspect - crowded TGI Fridays-like vibe - confusing layout and strange (!) service. The food was mediocre and took a long time (even though we beat the mad rush!) Give it a miss.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank timdonderevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lip Smackin' Good!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

You'll have a great experience at Maxie's Southern Comfort from the minute you walk in the door. Our server was fun, fun, fun! Start with one of their signature drinks, if you dare. I had a jalapeno margarita that was incredible with just the right kick. Another recommended drink is the Kentucky Bourbon Ale, a smooth brew. Our group shared cajun peel-and-eat shrimp and fried green tomatoes as appetizers. Could have had another order of both and called it good, but we tried some great entrees. Without a doubt, we agreed 'shrimp and grits' was the winner. I've never had grits and was unsure about what to expect. Wow, it was amazing. I added sausage (for an additional $4) to spice it up even more. It was delicious. The portions were generous enough to take leftovers home for another meal. My brother shared his piece of Key Lime Pie, topping off a fantastic meal in good southern fashion!

Although Maxie's doesn't take reservations, you may call ahead and arrive within 30 minutes to hold your place on the list. We waited less than 10 minutes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeitAll728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid Menu and Service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very good selection of Cajun styled and Southern styled foods. Love their Collard greens and the treatment with maple syrup and bacon.

Helpful?
Thank James T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Birthday Club”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went here for our monthly Birthday Club with about 16 ladies. What a wonderful choice. Great selection of food. Fun atmosphere. Very busy, restaurant. Our waiter was attentive and the food was delicious. I can speak personally on the crab cakes, yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxie's also viewed

 

Been to Maxie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing