We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's sailing, get on it!!!”
Review of Lake Express

Lake Express
Ranked #33 of 172 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Michigan's only high speed car-passenger ferry. Offering convenient 2-1/2 hour runs between Muskegon and Milwaukee. Visit our website for a full schedule of daily crossings and to book your trip. Cut hundreds of miles of driving and enjoy the hours you save when you take the Lake Michigan ferry shortcut offered by Lake Michigan's fast ferry, the Lake Express.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If it's sailing, get on it!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

At $95 per person with or without a car and the additional cost it represents, this is not cheap but compaired to driving from Muskegon, Grand Rapids, Holland or Kalamazoo, MI to get to Wisconsin through Chicago, it is worth it. It may even compare favorably to the cost of gas and certainly the anguish. The ferry is very comfortable with superb seating and table tops plus a snack bar and televisions. It does not cross Lake Michigan year round so call first. If you are taking a car across, a reservation is a must.
This is two and a half hour trip (given time difference going West) but it is leisurely. I read and I napped. Enterprise rents cars on either side of the trip, but make a reservation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    74
    26
    12
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“speed boat to michigan”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to travel to Michigan aboard a very efficient ferry. The greeting staff to park the car were professional yet friendly in their TSA official capacity checking ID etc. The terminal is very clean and modern. The ride over was not "wavy" but very sleek and smooth to enjoy the ride. Food prices were competitive with other type venues. Bathrooms were especially modern and clean. Would do this again in a minute!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lani474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great timesaver to Detroit”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great experience and saved a lot of time on a trip to Detroit for me and my vehicle. Way cheaper than flying and renting a car in Detroit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fast Ferry, Good Trip!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took the "fast ferry" (Lake Express) from Milwaukee to Muskegon, and back, after our trip in Michigan and Canada. We're not sure it saved a lot of time compared to driving, but it certainly saved a lot of headache driving through the Chicago area. We arrived at 5:15 to board the ferry for the 6:00 a.m. trip. The ferry personnel are friendly and have a system that works. On both the Milwaukee side and Muskegon side, the staff knew exactly how to choreograph cars, trucks and motorcycles so that they boarded and disembarked in a methodical, safe manner. The ferry left on time during both trips. We had paid extra for the Premier Cabin seating, and although we were able to avoid the noisy kids in the regular seating area, the regular seating area would have been just fine. I believe the only difference was "seating pods" compared to more theater style seating, and a free soda. They ran a movie each way, and I don't believe Premier Cabin passengers had to pay for the headphones. Our servers, both trips, were timely. The one drawback of sitting in the Premier section was that the seats right next to the door leading to the deck were in the line of traffic and door banking. The door closer either isn't working or needs adjustment. On the trip from Muskegon to Milwaukee, the weather was nice enough (and later in the afternoon) that more people were enjoying the deck. Bang, bang, bang. We moved. I was surprised at the cost for two adults and one car. Plus, because we had to reschedule this trip from a month earlier, it cost us another $50 to reschedule. All in all, both trips were as expected and enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank divaw0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No problems”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Took the 12:30 ferry on August 20 2013 out of Milwaukee to Michigan and there were no problems. A little pricier than the Badger, but the short trip was worth not having to fight traffic through Chicago and Indiana. We boarded on time, everything was "shipshape", the seating was better than some planes I've been on. A movie was available and headsets could be bought, but I wasn't interested. Since Lake Michigan cooperated and was as smooth as glass, the crossing was uneventful. Like another reviewer said, always have a Plan B. Ours was being flexible, eating before boarding, knowing ahead that boats/ferry travel can be capricious, and not having any firm plans for the other side. Had the ferry cancelled for any reason, we would have drove around the lake. Don't do this trip unless you can handle last-minute changes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Limey0098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Express also viewed

 

Been to Lake Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing