We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfectly Rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Merenda

La Merenda
Ranked #11 of 1,469 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 1st and Barclay
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfectly Rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Eclectic decor and quaint dining space makes this tapas restaurant a neighborhood gem. Reservations are highly recommended, otherwise you may find yourself waiting for quite a while.
The staff is approachable and friendly. The menu changes at times but most of the favorites remain the same such as the Goat Cheese Crostini & La Merenda salad. Whatever you choose know that you are experiencing the freshest available ingredients that have been prepared carefully with seasoning that allows the food to shine!
I prefer to enjoy La Merenda after 8:30p when the place is just beginning to wind down from the dinner rush. The service is just a bit more attentive and the room a little quieter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    66
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My kitchen..I wish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Peter Sandroni is one of the best chefs ever! His farm fresh, Internationally themed, small plates menu is outstanding. The decor is not fancy but there is a warm, friendly atmosphere and the place is humming every night. The outdoor patio is perfect with a wood burning fireplace. Now..the food! The nightly specials are delicious and the menu changes quite often. Try the ceviche, Argentinian beef, ravioli, short ribs, curried shrimp, patatas bravas with chorizo, lumpia..so many excellent dishes and perfect to share. Good wine selection and Mon. night bottles are half price. We even love eating at the bar where we've met many interesting people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annelee414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ghetto tapas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

first off, the location and first impression of the plastic door is horrible. valet service...haha no where around.
then you walk in...bartender lazy and bad mannered. I told the restaurant it was my bday and if i could have a nice table that would be nice. No mention of my bday, horrible SMALL table with a chair that was falling apart. Ambiance is horrible and looks like it was decorated at a flea market.
asked to switch to a different table....grudgingly moved.
Food was mediocre at best. Tapas is normally a decent serving that can be shared. portion was tiny. the special (beef wellington) was very good. the only thing that was any good! :(
my boyfriend told them AGAIN it was my bday and she literally TOSSED my dessert at me and said HAPPY BIRTHDAY (as she walked away).
i will never go back and it definitely was not a good choice for my bday.
learn how to treat your guests with respect....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannonrudolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tapas place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere were great. Will be going back to enjoy the new patio if summer ever arrives.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iceal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tapas were so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited this restaurant last night in Milwaukee. The food was very delicious. Ordered the argentinian steak, trout, potato skins, chorizo sausage and empanadas.. Had a great evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Merenda also viewed

 

Been to La Merenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing