We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro

Metro
Ranked #280 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mason/Milwaukee
Description: Classic Fare at Downtown Milwaukee Location
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went for breakfast. It had typical fare. I had eggs, toast, and bacon. It was good, and the price was reasonable. The service was also good. We were seated quickly. The decor is kind of retro/fancy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pern453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, Manager at Metro, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for the review Pern453! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago,Il USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent happy hour”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

this restaurant was great. Great staff! Kelly made you feel at home. Definately go for happy hour and try all the great drinks

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsychicago_IlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Metro, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for the review! I will be sure to pass on your sentiments to Kelly and staff! See you soon.
Allison
Online Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful atsmosphere, good service, disappointing food”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I was stuck at the Metro Hotel the night of the deluge, July 22, 2010. My daughter and I decided to eat at Cafe Metro. The restaurant is very tastefully done, dark and comfortable. We had the fried calamari and the crab/cheese dip apps. The calamari had a batter that was different- not real crispy, possibly frozen. It came with sweet Thai chili sauce that was really sweet; we asked for marinara, which we received with no problem. The crab/cheese dip was ok- not bad, but nothing special. My daughter had the baked halibut, which came with rice and green beans. It was plain, with a buttery sauce over all. I had the boulliabase, which was a special of the day. It had probably 16 very small mussels, about 5 overcooked shrimp, and some cod. The soup base was really lacking flavor of any kind. For dessert, we both had the upside down apple pie with cinnamon ice cream. The cinnamon ice cream was wonderful, but we probably should have known better than to order apple pie in July. The apples weren't good, and the pastry wasn't good- again, giving me the impression it had been frozen. The total bill came to $98.04, which includes our Diet Cokes. While the service was very good, I would say the food was very disappointing, considering the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trudysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Milwaukee has some great downtown dining; this was not one of them”
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Milwaukee, WI: HOTEL METRO BAR & CAFE: "Disappointing"
Date: June 2, 2009
Reviewer: Michael Fletcher, Clayton CA
We dined out to partake in the 4th annual Downtown Dining Week where 40 downtown restaurants offer a special menu of three-course meals at $10 for lunch and $20 for dinner. Drinks, tax and tip are not included. We decided to try dinner at the Metro. Of the three entrees offered I had the Flame Grilled Atlantic Salmon with fingerling potatoes, tomatoes, and wilted arugula, with a horseradish sauce. Tasted OK, but a very small portion not particularly presented well. This followed my appetizer of three bratwurst potstickers (we are in Milwaukee, remember) with a brat piece not much larger than the nail of my small finger. The dipping sauce was overly salty. For dessert I tried the chocolate cake which consisted of a 3 inch by 4 inch slice barely three-eighths of an inch thick topped with what appeared to be sweetened whipped cream and a few berries. Again, tasted OK but not much there. For entrees my dinning guests each had what was described as the Berkshire Pork Chop. 'A melt in your mouth pork rib chop' (both diners found them tough and rubbery), 'grilled and served with fingerling potatoes' (chop was plopped on a scoop of mashed potato), 'beer braised red cabbage (purple, tasty shreds along the side) and finished in a fennel seed reduction.' Small pieces of overcooked meat served with minimal presentation.
These $20 meals were touted for tipping purposes to be valued at $37. No way. Although one should not penalize the wait-staff service for a poor kitchen, could not in good conscience tip to the full higher amount.
On the plus side, we happened to dine on half-price wine special night (Tu and Th) and enjoyed an excellent Pinot Grigio and Pinot Noir, both from Parducci, at about $16 per bottle.
Service between courses was slow, but we were not annoyed since it was a planned leisurely meal with good wine and conversation.
One gets the impression that the Metro does not have its heart into this traffic generating affair. The offerings were weak on presentation, undersized and unremarkable to the palate, even at the so-called bargain price. When complaining to both the waiter and maitre d' about the pork chops, each said that she would 'advise the kitchen.'

Helpful?
2 Thank mikesuefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“$5 Martini's on Friday nights, got to love that! Perfect date place too.”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

$5 Martini's on Friday nights, got to love that! Perfect date place too.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing