We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Spot”

Bar Louie Water Street
Ranked #382 of 1,504 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the 3rd time being at Bar Louie....We do a yearly girl's night out and have started here for the past 3 years. This year was a bit dissappointing....we ordered a fish entree and it came out with a long piece of hair in it! Not very appetizing to say the least. When we approached the server, she did nothing to rectify the situation. We are definitely considering not coming back next year due to this issue. The outdoor patio is awesome though!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osteoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    34
    17
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot and $1 Burgers on Tuesdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food was good and the ambiance was good as well. The $1 burgers and chicken were phenomenal. They do charge for condiments like tomato's, onions and etc but it is well worth it and you will still save a lot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank muzicmaestro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice patio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I come here quite often for either happy hour or late night to listen to my friends' band. The patio is always nice to sit at in the summer. The service is much better if you're seated inside for a meal or happy hour than it is if you're on the patio. I find myself just going up to the bar when I need a drink.

The food itself is really good, though. They do work with me when I tell them I have a gluten allergy, but they do not have a gluten free menu, and the menu is limited for what they can do. I still come anyway for the ambiance!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mssnappy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls,WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Summer Outside nightspot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just had drinks there and listened to Music outside. Excellent venue with terrific outside atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koppk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beer selection the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

i stopped in here just for beer and to watch sports. if you are a fan of beer, this is the place. wow, about 30-40 taps, great variety, even a Rogue (Oregon area). Did not have food. TV's nice and big, layout of place is cool, high ceilings, lots of light, spacious bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louie Water Street also viewed

 

Been to Bar Louie Water Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing