We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio!”

Bar Louie Water Street
Ranked #481 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice patio!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I come here quite often for either happy hour or late night to listen to my friends' band. The patio is always nice to sit at in the summer. The service is much better if you're seated inside for a meal or happy hour than it is if you're on the patio. I find myself just going up to the bar when I need a drink.

The food itself is really good, though. They do work with me when I tell them I have a gluten allergy, but they do not have a gluten free menu, and the menu is limited for what they can do. I still come anyway for the ambiance!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mssnappy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    34
    17
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls,WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Summer Outside nightspot”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just had drinks there and listened to Music outside. Excellent venue with terrific outside atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koppk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beer selection the best”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

i stopped in here just for beer and to watch sports. if you are a fan of beer, this is the place. wow, about 30-40 taps, great variety, even a Rogue (Oregon area). Did not have food. TV's nice and big, layout of place is cool, high ceilings, lots of light, spacious bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
336 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Watering Hole”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

For the young and restless that want to meet and frolic with others that want a good night out at a watering hole.

Helpful?
Thank sabers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“College hang out”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Huge place, good happy hour and specials, have to wait for service usually.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CheffJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louie Water Street also viewed

 

Been to Bar Louie Water Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing