We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Soooo Good”

Gilles Frozen Custard Drive In
Ranked #5 of 22 Dessert in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Milwaukee's Oldest Custard Stand Established in 1938, Gilles Frozen Custard has been serving superior custard to the Milwaukee Area for over 78 years.
Restaurant details
Description: Milwaukee's Oldest Custard Stand Established in 1938, Gilles Frozen Custard has been serving superior custard to the Milwaukee Area for over 78 years.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always Soooo Good”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been going there since I was a little kid. They used to be closed from Thanksgiving to Easter and patrons would go into custard shock. Many years ago they started with year-round hours (they have longer hours in the summertime), Yea!!! Their custard is very creamy and have also added flavors of the day. Hot food is varied and really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JL2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good fast food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I always wanted to go to the Gilles in Milwaukee. I grew up in Fond du Lac where there is also a drive-in called Gilles. We were driving out of Milwaukee and I was looking for a restaurant for lunch on the GPS. When I found Gilles, my destination was decided. The restaurant is in a residential area, so not along any highways. We shared a Gillieburger (sloppy joe) and it was evident that it was homemade. They also offer a combo of onion rings and fries. We shared so we would have room for the great custard. I had a sundae and my husband a rootbeer float. They were great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4handsomemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old School Frozen Custard”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was pretty much the only thing with any life the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. The cool old neon sign beckons you in for a great old-school frozen custard. There are all kinds of unusual combinations (with pictures) as well as the typical classics.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SFVFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved by 3 Generations”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My father went to Gilles when he has a teenager, I love it and my kids love it. Every since I was a kid I order the jimmie sundae and cheeseburger. Best custard in Milwaukee! Nice to go to a family run restaurant. Custard is also sold in many Milwaukee grocery stores.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frozen custard”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Their custard is out of this world! Had the flavor of the day "rootbeer float", and I could almost feel the soda bubbles on my tongue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilles Frozen Custard Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Gilles Frozen Custard Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing