We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Dine”
Review of Envoy Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

Envoy Restaurant & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Envoy Restaurant & Lounge is permanently closed.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must Dine”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Don't know where to begin my review but this is a Must Dine Restaurant in Milwaukee. Our group of ten opted for the All You Can Eat Friday Fish Fry and we practically rolled out of the place. ALL of the dishes were delicious, plentiful and reasonably priced. We also dined on Saturday and our individuals selections were fabulous. The Truffled Meatloaf is to die for. The restaurant's temperature was cold and the food seemed to cool quickly. Service is slow even with a minimal amount of patrons. Only three waitresses on duty so be prepared to wait for your food. Sunday's Brunch is not your average food fare. This is the best $18.00 you can spend on anything, anywhere. WOW!!. Several mouth watering items from which to chose, including prime rib, steak, waffles, pancakes, crab cakes, french toast, omelet station, breakfast meats, (ham is great), several egg dishes, salads, etc. All excellent. Server (Pam) was really nice and efficient but the place needs more waitresses for the number of people dining. I had the green eggs and ham, unbelievably excellent. A few of the dishes arrived cold and had to be returned, no problem. Coffee, tea, etc, is not included in the brunch prices. The Bloody Mary's looked like meals within themselves and received raves from members of our party. Cannot say enough positive things about the Envoy Restaurant. Not your typical hotel food with great prices to boost. Highly recommend and reservations are encouraged.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruruChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    14
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Menominee, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Envoy at the Ambassador Hotel is a great place to dine and very convenient for the hotel guests. You can enjoy your meal in the Envoy restaurant, at the bar or in your room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Envoy is located in the Ambassador Hotel. As a guest of our hotel, you do have the convenient option of in-room dining. However, we do offer some great specials daily in our Lounge...Half off Bottles of Wine on Wine Wednesday and our Buy one Nostalgic cocktail at today's price and receive your second at the 1928's price. Just two of many occasions to spend some time in Envoy during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Old school charm and beautiful Art Deco surroundings”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had lunch at this delightful Art Deco hotel - the Ambassador while visiting Milwaukee for a weekend wedding. The grilled cheese with cheddar, goat cheese and swiss was a delight for the senses and reasonably priced. The staff is professional - Ike was a five star - you could tell he has a skilled and professional understanding of his position. The room itself was comfortable and reminiscent of an earlier age. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NapervilleCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Envoy, inside the Ambassador Hotel. The grilled cheese is a local favorite and is a must for those grilled cheese connoisseurs. It was our pleasure to serve you and we do look forward to having you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Services varies....”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Ambassador Hotel. On the first night (Weds) we ate at The Envoy and were really impressed. Service was good, the food was *excellent* and it was a really great evening. We came away recommending the place to our local friends.

We liked it so much we decided to eat there on our last night, too (Sat). The food was again excellent, we can't fault that at all. The service was attentive, but so darned fast. The entree arrived before we had finished our appetisers. I said that we weren't ready yet, but she simply moved our unfinished dishes to one side so she could serve the next course.

Either the kitchen was having a slow night (difficult to believe given the amount of food being delivered to the bar) or there are some serious front/back of house communication issues and some additional training is required.

We felt rushed, and for a $100 dinner for two we did not expect to be back in our room within the hour. We even joked that the desert was going to be served as soon as we started our entrees, and I was expecting the desert menus to appear at the table for an immediate decision.

It's a shame, as the food really is very good indeed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank The-Current-Mrs-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great comments. Our goal is to exceed your expectations each and every time you choose to dine with us. We never want our guests to feel rushed, in fact quite the opposite. Your comments are currently being reviewed with our staff, in an effort to consistenly provide a legendary dining experience. We do look foward to having you back to Envoy and the Ambassador Hotel again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Art Deco in Milwaukee”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had dinner with friends at Envoy, the Ambassador Hotel's in-house restaurant. Both have been nicely redone in art deco style. At 5:30, we were the first into the restaurant which had just installed their fall menu. Our server was pleasant, friendly and efficient. Our friends chose the prime rib special and my wife and I the gorgonzola stuffed chicken. The meals themselves were quite good, but there semed to be a portion control problem. The prime ribs were massive, much larger than the promised "queen sized" portion. On the other hand our chicken dishes had very little meat on the plate, basically a leg and a thigh. Other than a few green beans, most of the plate was covered with lukewarm mashed potatoes. It was a disappointing we didn't get more chicken, what we got was quite tasty. On the other hand I had an excellent wedge salad and my wife and I shared a dessert of fabulous apple pie ala mode. This a good spot to try if you are a bit west of downtown area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for dining with us in Envoy. Our new fall menu was introduced last week and has had rave reviews. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and it appears we fell a bit short. I am glad to hear you did enjoy the Apple Pie for dessert. It is by far a favroite choice among our guests. We do look forward to having you return to Envoy again this fall! We do have a fabulous Friday Fish Fry, now featuring Perch, in addition to our Baked or Fried Cod.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Envoy Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing