We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A birthday celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sunday was my husband's 73rd birthday and I surprised him with a wonderful experience at the Schuster Mansion. The mansion is spotless and Laura and Rick are pleasant and caring.
Laura took us on a tour and answered all our questions. The breakfast is amazing and Laura Sue prepares all the food in her kitchen.

It was a real treat for two old dudes.

Elaine and Paul

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    17
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
16
98
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My recent stay with Laura and Rick was an unexpected delight for my first business trip to Milwaukee. From the moment my coworker and I entered this home, we were warmly welcomed, invited to sit in the ladies' parlor, and asked our preferences for foods and dietary restrictions, etc. It was superb service, but in such a personal manner, that it was more like staying with family than a hotel.

The mansion has been lovingly restored over the past 5 years and has so many details that I saw something "new" every time I stepped into a room. I wish that I had the extra time to explore the house more, and learn about all of the details of this home. If I have any say about it, there will be another trip to Milwaukee so I can stay at Schuster Mansion again!

I loved the added touch of a tea tray in the morning before breakfast was served, it was a little extra luxury that makes this B&B special and stand out from the rest.

ps- Their Corgi dog Isaac is absolutely precious! I loved seeing him during my stay, it truly felt like home.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mollie's Suite on the 2nd floor- has a private bath and is very quiet even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This business trip turned into a joy as I was taken back in time to the early 1900's. I can not find the right words to describe this wonderful experience. The owners were great. They provided a quiet, relaxing atmosphere with the best food ever received from any hotel I have stayed at on a business trip. Their prices were cheaper than staying downtown and their location is in a quiet neighborhood. All my future trips to Milwaukee will include a stay at Downton Abby in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect for anyone's taste and needs for a restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great time spending the weekend with Laura & Rick. They are welcoming, fun, and really know the history of the mansion. We went back in time for a couple of days, and it was a nice change of pace to our usual hotel stays in Milwaukee. They pamper you, feed you great food, and treat you like family. The place has so much history, and they are doing a wonderful job in restoring it. It's comfortable, cozy, and has the best Chocolate Chip cookies ever. We will definitely be going back. Thanks Laura & Rick for sharing your home with us!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a different feel, so make sure to read the details before making your choice. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FMCatena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Two of my lady friends and I enjoyed high tea and a tour yesterday. It was the perfect way to celebrate one of my friend's birthday. We felt so welcomed and nutured! The food was lovely and the atmosphere superb!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent two days at this fabulous getaway and said it was nice to be so pampered for awhile. Inside this ornately decorated house, it felt like a sanctuary from the bussle of big city life. We both spent the first evening reading by a fireplace enjoying the quiet classical music that's always there. The next night we drove a mere fifteen minutes to an edgy restaurant downtown where we enjoyed world class cuisine. Milwaukee has a lot to offer and the Schuster Mansion is a nice place to relax and recharge between outings to the city. Laura Sue is a charming hostess. The only drawback to our time was the rainy weather. Despite that we toured the Milwaukee Public Museum, Miller Brewery, the Pabst Museum and a couple of other older homes. Word needs to get out about this exciting city and this elegant bed and breakfast. Before I close, I wanted to mention we got to choose our breakfast from a few different selections as well as the time we wanted it served. She is a pleasant hostess who works hard for each customer. My wife and I both said it was a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: There was a bit of construction and not all suggestions of our GPS could be followed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Schuster Mansion for 2 nights in the Serenity Suite. Upon arrival we were greeted by Laura Sue, owner and she graciously sat us down to get all the paperwork check-in requests done, and a chance to get to know our new temporary home. (This allowed us the ability to enjoy the suite until check out time, not fretting over payments in the end of our stay.)

The attention to detail throughout this mansion is striking. More time was spent visually enjoying the fine detail and perfectly placed period antiques and decorations throughout, than just casually walking through. Laura Sue personally hand-cut hundreds of gold stars from wallpaper that were tactfully placed on our ceiling and walls in the Serenity suite and other rooms throughout the mansion that accented the mood portrayed by each room's theme. Our hot tub was extra large and had his/hers robes awaiting after exit, again adding to the fine experience of our stay. The bottle of wine was perfect icing on the cake.

We LOVED the 3 tiered service plan. (We wish all B&B's offered this). We chose the premier package. The history tour was fascinating and detailed. It left me thirsting to know more about the Schuster Family, as it was told with passion and respect of an era gone by of Milwaukee wealth and family ties. We had full tea/coffee delivered to our room with ALL the fixings. I felt like a princess. A simple knock on the door and announcement of "Goodmorning" meant hot tea, steaming warm fresh from the oven breads with whipped topping, all the condiments including fine china and linens made waking up that much better! Served when WE wanted it to be delivered! Top that off with an additional gourmet breakfast of 3 choices what time we chose to eat. What more could one ask for?

Premier also included tips and tricks of area places to see and do. Even being from the Milwaukee area ourselves, we found places we would have never known existed. It made our weekend get-a-way top notch.

One must overlook the negative reviews for the Schuster Mansion, as with any hotel/motel, there are policies and cancellation fees that are put in place for a reason so the top notch experience that a Bed and Breakfast offers can truly be enjoyed. My husband and I will definately be back to enjoy some more fine pampering that Laura Sue and Rick offer through their gorgeous home.

Room Tip: The website has photos and detailed info. The pictures don't do it justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traxxter262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3209 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schuster Mansion is the newest B&B in Milwaukee's Historic Concordia Neighborhood. Converted to luxury apartments in the 20s, owners/innkeepers Rick & Laura Sue take great pride in returning this architectural gem to its original splendor. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it's the perfect destination for your private weekend getaway. Our spacious Victorian suites will surround you in luxury and our wonderful homemade breakfasts can be enjoyed at your private in-suite breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuster Mansion Hotel Milwaukee
Schuster Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing