We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets or beats Chicago's best at 1/2 the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenuta's Italian Restaurant

Tenuta's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #215 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bay View
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meets or beats Chicago's best at 1/2 the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

They really care! 2nd or 3rd generation family run restaurant in residential neighborhood with outstanding food and service. Ravioli di funghi (mushrooms, spinach, etc). in excellent sauce and veal parmagiana were excellent. Large portions of food and generous drinks. Waitress knowledgeable and attentive. Casual, comfortable atmosphere. If you are visiting Milwaukee, have dinner here one night and Coquette's the second night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheridanroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for solo diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I travel for work and always search out a non chain restaurant that represents the town. Tenuta's falls into this sweet spot. It's set in a charming neighborhood and was filled with gracious and friendly locals. The bar tender was extremely knowledgeable about the wine list and didn't hesitate to offer tastes. The menu was a twist on the standard Italian fare-thank goodness. The ravioli fungi and tiramisu did not dissapoint!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tucked away in a south Milwaukee neighborhood is Tenuta's, a quaint, fabulous Italian restaurant. Upon entering one is reminded of something out of the "Godfather" as you are greeted by a large bar with a room attached that contains several, inviting tables. Our server impressed us all evening with her timely visits to our table and her knowledge of each menu item and how they were prepared.

We started with a roasted cauliflower soup. A wonderful puree with a subtle taste of the vegetable.

Tenuta's has a full-service bar with a very nice selection of wines by-the-glass.

We ordered the Veal Scallopini and Chicken Piccata. Both dishes were served with sauteed spinach, oven roasted potatoes, and plenty of garlic. The Piccata was finished wonderfully with a lemon wine sauce with capers and the Scallopini with white wine sauce. Both the veal and chicken were fork tender and perfectly prepared. Portions were just right.

This is a place that when you look around you notice that everybody is very happy to be there. We also noticed an announcement on the wall that Tenuta's was voted by the readers of Milwaukee Magazine to have the best pizza in town. Many of the diners were eating that pizza served on large used, tomato cans.

Our server recommended the Tiramisu for desert, best we ever tasted.

One suggestion, make reservations. After 6:00 PM this place is full. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine, one desert and two coffees was under $70. A real bargain for the quality of the food, wine and service.

We can't wait to visit Milwaukee and Tenuta's again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huskieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice little neighborhood Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been here twice now and the food does not disappoint! I enjoyed the ravioli fungi with a marsala cream sauce on my last visit and wanted to lick the plate it was so good. It has a nice wine list too. It is not a large place, so I would recommend reservations on the weekends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelswithbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I had heard very good things about this restaurant so we decided to try it out. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. The atmosphere was not what I expected. It definately is not a place to go if you want to have a conversation or catch up with some friends. The food was average, but maybe I was expecting amazing, or maybe we just went on a bad night. If we are in the area we would go back, but I would not make a point of going out of our way to dine their again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie53092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tenuta's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing