We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Fun to Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Theater

Oriental Theater
Ranked #30 of 166 things to do in Milwaukee
Attraction details
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Fun to Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Oriental, while having some renovations done to add more space for additional theaters, hasn't changed much and thank God for that. The building is goegeous. The acoutics are good, the staff generally friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lmr1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    32
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place, no matter how many times I go, always takes my breath away! It has been restored but still has its quirky and unique charm. Plus, any theater you can go to and grab a Spotted Cow is awesome in my opinion!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
261 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored Movie Theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I always try to catch a great independent flick at the Oriental when we are in Milwaukee. You feel like you are walking back in time once you step through the doors. It's a true gem!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Have to see a movie here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The history is amazing, look it up. You have to see a movie in the main theatre here. The other two theatres are not as impressive as the main one. Take everyone, it is such a cool and historic place in our city. So glad it has survived this long.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JWern7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A classic theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Oriental still runs the Rocky Horror Picture Show on weekends. The Milwaukee Film Festival has movies in this theater, and independent and smaller run films find their way to the Oriental.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Librariandonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Theater also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing