We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Marquette....beautiful downtown campus”

Marquette University
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Milwaukee Sightseeing City Tour
Ranked #40 of 168 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Detroit
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love Marquette....beautiful downtown campus”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful downtown campus, historical buildings, beautiful church. Vibrant campus, young people all over. Very nice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thecablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walk-by”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador nearby on our vacation to Milwaukee. We walked by the campus many times and it was very clean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rnjbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus with a strong education”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Disclaimer- I did graduate from Marquette. But the campus continues to improve more and more each day. Highlights include Joan of Arc chapel, the rec center, the quad and the union. Visit the Al Center which is great too. If you want a quality education- this may be the place for you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiketon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"The Marquette Bubble"”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Everyone seems to be reviewing either the education or the basketball team- neither of which have anything to do with visiting the campus.

While there are some nice aspects to the MU campus (Joan of Arc chapel) there is really no reason to just stop by for a visit. All of the interesting attractions and local watering holes have been turned into Marquette things- bookstores and practice spaces for the fencing team. And if you venture 2-3 blocks in any direction from the union, you are leaving the "bubble" and you're pretty much guaranteed to be in a shady area. Marquette students have done a great job of making themselves easy pray for gangs and hobos- ignorant white kids with daddy's money.

If you're going to visit Milwaukee, there are a bunch of great museums, parks, restaurants, and more to visit. Why anyone would come to see MU unless they were on a school visit is beyond me.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank LilRedDress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As an alumna, I may be biased”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you are visiting Milwaukee for any reason it is worth the trip to take a walk through Marquette University's campus. The Joan of Arc Chapel is beautiful, historical and worth the trip. Stop by the student union and pick up some Marquette gear. And I love stopping by Gesu Parish. I think it's one of the most beautiful churches I have ever seen.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tricias830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marquette University also viewed

 

Been to Marquette University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing