We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice neighborhood”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2008

plenty of residents living there full-time. nice little cafe for a very good breakfast and the front desk gives you a $2.50 off coupon per person. funky atmosphere-front desk very helpful, even suggesting we take our bicycles into our room. also gave us the phone number for the bus company. walked to the lake--gorgeous and quiet on a weekday. we'd stay there again for the price and location.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for The Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 853 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed at the Plaza for four night, including a full weekend, in mid July 2007.

Yes, the rooms are converted apartments, and they include a kitchen with stove, fridge and microwave. And yes, there is a small diner-style establishment on the main floor.

The positives: This hotel is in a pretty good location. It is close to the lake, Northwestern Mutual's home office, a large grocery store, eating establishments and bus stops. It is a fairly easy ride over from the airport, and it is not impossible to make the mile or so walk into the heart of downtown.

The staff was responsive and wiling to assist with whatever requests were made. They can even provide an ironing board and iron for those in need (there is not one included in the room).

By comparison, this is a cheap stay -- very economical. And you will feel safe walking the streets regardless of how early or late.

The negatives: This is an old property, and it shows its age -- you will either find it quaint or tired.

There are no elevators servicing any floor. There are, however, small stairways, which makes it somewhat difficult to move luggage.

The room is tiny, and floors squeak with every step. The shower is designed for shorter people, and the water temperature can swing from just fine to burning hot without warning regardless of the hour of use.

There is a store-bought window a/c unit cooling the room and an old-style radiator heating from the corner.

The diner has odd hours, and all the seats available in the dining room are not open even when there are many waiting to be served. You may find a long line ahead of you, especially in the morning.

Taxis will come to the hotel if you ask the desk to call; this is not a regular stop for carriers.

Summary: This is a good place to stay for business or other trips where you will not be spending prolonged periods of time in the room.

Given the size of the room and lack of certain amenities, this may not be a good place for families or others traveling with young children.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Openemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is our second trip to the Plaza. We were apprehensive because it is an apartment hotel and we didn't need cooking facilities- but we found it to be clean, charming, old-fashioned , friendly, economical, conveniently located, darling coffee shop, very friendly service. We make a point of recommending it to anyone going anywhere near the beautiful city of Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cookertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

At $55 a night for the weekly rate, I was a bit unsure of what to expect. But this was a great deal. The east downtown location (across from a large grocery store) is great, and the rooms (which include a full kitchen) are clean and comfortable. It's an old hotel, but it has been nicely renovated, the rooms are quite large, and there's good water pressure in the showers. There's also a neat diner in the hotel, with an old u-shaped counter and great deco designs on the ceilings.

The downside: My room only received an air conditioning unit halfway through my stay, and its windows opened onto the interior courtyard where the diner expands on warm days. So if you have the windows open, it sounds like the customers are sitting in the room with you. I suspect the air conditioning is no longer an issue--I think they have only recently completed renovations. But I'd definitely ask for a room that is not on the courtyard.

Still, overall I was very impressed with what I got for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank yankancuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine8510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sono tutte uguali credo
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todoroff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alkandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,900 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,095 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 1007 N Cass St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3374
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $107 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing